cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

cname troubles

giraffeandtiger
Grafter
Posts: 68
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-09-2007

cname troubles

Hello,
I am pretty new to all things domain related so I am hoping I can get some help.
I basically want to create a new CNAME record in my domain management section.  (I want to do this in order to verify my domain name for a google service I want to try)
Here is what they say on the google service verification page ...
Quote

1.  Sign in to your domain hosting service and locate the DNS management page. The location varies by service, but can typically be found under Domain Management or Advanced Settings .
2. Use the following unique string to create a new CNAME record:
      googleffffffff95968e81 . giraffeandtiger.co.uk
3. Point the CNAME record to:
      google.com
4. Once you have made the changes, you can verify that the record exists by doing a CNAME lookup for http://googleffffffff95968e81.giraffeandtiger.co.uk . You can find several web sites to do automated CNAME lookups by searching for CNAME lookup at http://www.google.com .

I have added a record to my domain name configuration through the member center as follows.
Left field: googleffffffff95968e81.giraffeandtiger.co.uk
Type: cname
Pri: [left this blank]
Right Field: google.com
I have tried using a CNAME lookup tool on the net to determine if this has worked and get 'no entries' reported for googleffffffff95968e81.giraffeandtiger.co.uk, but I do get entries reported for www.giraffeandtiger.co.uk.
Quote
Domain Type Class Result
giraffeandtiger.co.uk. NS IN ns2.force9.net.
giraffeandtiger.co.uk. NS IN ns1.force9.net.
ns1.force9.net. A IN 195.166.128.16
ns2.force9.net. A IN 195.166.128.17

I have now also tried adding an additional entry as follows
Left Field: googleffffffff95968e81
The rest is the same as above
Still no joy - I have had these entries set up since Friday now and still not getting any joy from a cname lookup tool - (except for www.giraffeandtiger.co.uk).
Can anyone give me any advice on what I'm doing wrong?
Thanks,
Alan
18 REPLIES 18
giraffeandtiger
Grafter
Posts: 68
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-09-2007

Re: cname troubles

That occurred to me too - I also have an entry in addition to the first one that is as follows (which also went in on Friday evening)
Left field: googleffffffff95968e81
Type: cname
Pri: [left this blank]
Right Field: google.com
The other thing I'm wondering is should I be waiting longer for these changes to take effect - since you could say it has not yet been 48 hours yet (in working days) since I made the change ...
Alan
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: cname troubles

I've just done a quick dig on your domain and it brings up the following result
googleffffffff95968e81.giraffeandtiger.co.uk. 14400 IN CNAME google.com.giraffeandtiger.co.uk.

Which looks like you didn't place the trailing . after google.com in the CNAME record so it has appended the domain to the end again.
I'll go edit this now for you, it will take around 12 hours to update.
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
giraffeandtiger
Grafter
Posts: 68
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-09-2007

Re: cname troubles

Ah - foiled by a magic '.'
Thanks very much for all the great assistance.  I will hold my breath for the next twelve hours.
I must say I am very impressed by the response time on this forum  Cheesy
Alan
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: cname troubles

Just so you know what I have done.
Both of the exisiting CNAMES have been removed and I have added
googleffffffff95968e81  CNAME google.com.

I haven't put a trailing . on googleffffffff95968e81 as this will append the domain name on the end now.
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
giraffeandtiger
Grafter
Posts: 68
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-09-2007

Re: cname troubles

So I see - Thanks for that  Cheesy
Should I be able to see anything right now using a cname lookup tool? - such as something like your quote from earlier ...
Quote
googleffffffff95968e81.giraffeandtiger.co.uk. 14400 IN CNAME google.com.giraffeandtiger.co.uk.

Because I see
Quote
No CNAME records exist for googleffffffff95968e81.giraffeandtiger.co.uk

when I try looking for cname records on googleffffffff95968e81.giraffeandtiger.co.uk
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: cname troubles

When I do a CNAME lookup on your domain the following result appears
googleffffffff95968e81.giraffeandtiger.co.uk. 14400 IN CNAME google.com.
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
giraffeandtiger
Grafter
Posts: 68
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-09-2007

Re: cname troubles

And for me now too - it's all working perfectly now.  Grin
Thanks for the great support.
Alan
giraffeandtiger
Grafter
Posts: 68
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-09-2007

CNAME question

Hello,
Can I use a left field of 'www.example' as a left field in a CNAME entry if I already have an entry using 'www'?
Thanks,
Alan
ffupi
Grafter
Posts: 370
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: cname troubles

Why is it not possible to do
forum  CNAME  ccgi.plus.net.

Huh

It would redirect e.g. http://forum.giraffeandtiger.co.uk to the root of ccgi. In ccgi-root a .htaccess could then point it to a desired directory.
Isn't it a bit unfair that http://googleffffffff95968e81.giraffeandtiger.co.uk is allowed to point to another ISP, but not to the own PlusNet one. ?

giraffeandtiger
Grafter
Posts: 68
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-09-2007

Re: cname troubles

I am currently trying to use some of my cgi space aliased from a friends domain - by inserting the following dns settings on his domain.
Left Field: php
Type: CNAME
Right Field: ccgi.giraffeandtiger.plus.com.
When I use my friends domain address http://php.thebazaarofbohemia.org.uk/
I am ending up getting re-directed straight to http://www.plus.net/
A CNAME lookup tool gives me the following response for php.thebazaarofbohemia.org.uk
Quote
Domain Type Class Result
ns.hosteurope.com. A IN 212.67.202.2
ns2.hosteurope.com. A IN 212.67.203.246

Anyone know how to make this work?
Peter_Vaughan
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: cname troubles

Plusnet only support the following sub-domains on the ccgi server:
www
ccgi
Anything else will be ignored and you redirected to plusnets home page.
You can use any sub-domain if you are running your own webserver (i.e. a webserver running on your adsl line).
ffupi
Grafter
Posts: 370
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: cname troubles

Still a bit unfair.
forum
would be a good sub-domain.
giraffeandtiger
Grafter
Posts: 68
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-09-2007

Re: cname troubles

A little confused ...
Does this mean I can't stick anything in the dns entries of my friends server domain settings to link to my plusnet cgi space?
Or can I do something using ccgi or www?
What would I stick in the right and left fields?
Thanks for all the help 🙂
Alan
giraffeandtiger
Grafter
Posts: 68
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎03-09-2007

Re: cname troubles

My friends domain is not a plusnet one