cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wordpress on local LAMP server problems with login

johnboy84

Wordpress on local LAMP server problems with login

Hi guys, my first post so any help would be greatly appreciated!!  Wink
Ive been having a bit of a nightmare trying to setup a simple wordpress site on a LAMP server I have setup on my local network.
I'm a bit new to all this so please correct me if I make any blundering errors.
So where to start  Undecided
I have installed virtualbox on my 2008 mac pro, created a virtual machine onto which I have installed ubuntu server, apache2, php, mysql etc all fine.
Set my network adapter in virtualbox to bridged adapter, so I get an individual ip for the virtual machine.
I have then created a database in mysql and given the correct permissions all ok (i think)
I've then downloaded the latest version of wordpress with wget command and installed to root directory and then moved to /var/www/html
From there Ive gone through the standard wordpress install and amended the wp-config.php file etc
All ok...so far
At this point in time Im just connecting to my wordpress site and admin page through the local ip address in firefox.and all is ok.
I then setup port forwarding in my plusnet thompson router for the ip of the server with (games and applications http-worldwideweb)
Now all is fine connecting from any computer on my network via the local ip but if I try to connect from a external connection, through my external Ip address, it will get to the wordpress login but it is not displaying the css properly and doesn't login to the admin page.
I have my domain from namecheap and have setup their dns client on another computer on my network to forward my external ip to an A-address with hostname @ (sry I prob not explaining this properly, my knowledge if poor, but it seems to work ok)