cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why not PHP on main server?

robingoodall
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Why not PHP on main server?

So I notice (when adding my free domain) that my PlusNet WebSpace supports PHP. Great, I think. I could use this to test things before moving them elsewhere. So, I upload the standard PHP file that just calls phpinfo() to see exactly what is supported. But going to the url just gives me the PHP file as text. Umm...
Ok, I look at the online help. Err..? What's this? I have to run CGI on a separate server! More hassle than it's worth to me...
So, my question (eventually) is:
Why cannot PHP just be turned on for the www.username.plus.com server?
It's running Apache (albeit 1.3) so it's shouldn't be difficult.
8 REPLIES 8
velociter
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Why not PHP on main server?

I agree.
I am writing a PHP interface to maintain my webspace at the moment to make it easy to upload images, add metadata, etc. Because PHP is hosted on a different server, it makes handling file uploads annoyingly complicated.
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Why not PHP on main server?

You can choose to run your whole www webspace on the ccgi servers.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Liam
Grafter
Posts: 2,083
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Why not PHP on main server?

Because it's a seperate platform, with a different architecture and focus from a security point of view.
We can point a hosted domain name to CCGI, or you can just use http://ccgi.username.plus.com
Magic
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-08-2007

Re: Why not PHP on main server?

Liam,
I too would like to have a domain name point to a cgi page (http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php?topic=628.0).
Do plusnet need to do this for me, or can I change the settings myself?
Thanks.
glyndev
Grafter
Posts: 620
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Why not PHP on main server?

As Liam has said. It is a seperate server that is more security focused.
I could be wrong with my understanding of this and I am sure that I will be corrected if wrong. So here goes.
1: cgi scripting is only available to people who have paid
    accounts. So if cgi was enabled on the www servers it
    would be available to everyone.
2: I would imagine that to enable scripting on the www
    servers would entail a complete or partial rebuild of the
    servers with enhanced security, and new scripting be
    written to control who could and could not access cgi
    capabilities.
I am sure that I will be corrected if wrong
Magic
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-08-2007

Re: Why not PHP on main server?

Glyn,
Thanks for the info. Unless I am misunderstanding something, I already have ccgi scripting enabled. Indeed my ccgi page is running Mambo fine.
Liam wrote that plusnet 'can point a hosted domain name to CCGI...'
How do I go about doing this?
glyndev
Grafter
Posts: 620
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Why not PHP on main server?

This page explains what you need to do.
http://usertools.plus.net/tutorials/id/14

Then scroll about halfway down the page to the section entitled
"Pointing your domain to the CGI server"
If you are unsure about using the DNS system raise a ticket and ask support to do it for you.
Magic
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-08-2007

Re: Why not PHP on main server?

Brilliant - thanks a lot Smiley