cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What Fibre Modem would you recommend?

lorisarvendu
Grafter
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎26-08-2007

What Fibre Modem would you recommend?

I currently have a TP-link router that I don't want to get rid of, and an aging BT fibre modem that I do.  In case of emergencies I also have a Plusnet Router with integrated modem, but once I move onto that I can't use the TP Link router, and I'd like to keep it as it has a lot of extra features that the PN router doesn't (like the ability to route WOL packets from the internet).

What fibre modems can anyone recommend that they are currently using themselves? 

I'm on FTTC.

 

Thanks in anticipation.

A tortoise? What's that?
You know what a turtle is? Same thing.
6 REPLIES 6
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,173
Thanks: 2,721
Fixes: 182
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: What Fibre Modem would you recommend?

One has to ask why? I would recommend a Huawei HG612 model 3B off EBay. However you may already be using one as they tend to be badged Openreach. If you have the alternative ECI version then it is worth swapping, especially if you are connected to a BT Huawei fibre cabinet.

lorisarvendu
Grafter
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎26-08-2007

Re: What Fibre Modem would you recommend?

You ask why.  Well, I am aware that the openreach modems are no longer provided, supported, or replaced, and that if it fails I will have to use the PN router which is inferior to my own router. I want to keep my own router, so the only way to do that is to keep a separate modem.

A tortoise? What's that?
You know what a turtle is? Same thing.
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,173
Thanks: 2,721
Fixes: 182
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: What Fibre Modem would you recommend?

Fine, you previously said you want to get rid of your Openreach modem. My advice is the same, you can pick up a Huawei modem very cheaply on Ebay and they work as well as any modem.

lorisarvendu
Grafter
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎26-08-2007

Re: What Fibre Modem would you recommend?

Is there any advantage or disadvantage to getting an "Unlocked" one?   Would it invalidate any support for line problems from BT engineers?

A tortoise? What's that?
You know what a turtle is? Same thing.
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,173
Thanks: 2,721
Fixes: 182
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: What Fibre Modem would you recommend?

It would not invalidate any support. My advice there would be that if you have a problem put your Plusnet supplied set up back in place or ask for advice on this forum. If it's unlocked then you can get access to detailed information related to your broadband line so can be veru useful for fault finding. Its not difficult to unlock them so don't pay much extra for one that's already unlocked. More information on unlocking here: https://kitz.co.uk/routers/hg612unlock.htm

Protech
Rising Star
Posts: 69
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎26-09-2017

Re: What Fibre Modem would you recommend?

 

 @lorisarvendu

It may also be worth considering the tplink_TD-W9970 and running it in bridge (modem only ) mode.

These are decent budget vdsl routers in any case  , and the modems are very stable. See the kitz review

https://kitz.co.uk/routers/tplink_TD-W9970_review.htm

 

These are also in current production and can be picked up new for not much more than a  pre-owned hg612.

 

You can check out but you can never leave ( easily)