Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Weird uploading problems

hollytree
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Weird uploading problems

Hi
Just uploaded my website to the htdocs directory using CuteFTP (a dozen or so html pages, some css for the nav buttons, and a couple of pdf files).
Everything seemed to transfer fine BUT:

• the size of each html file now sitting in htdocs is about 1kb less than those I uploaded

• when I check my site online, all of the images within each html files are missing

• I cant get the pdf files to open online

I'm a newbie and I cant locate any guidance on these probs so I'm probably failing to do something blindingly obvious  ::). but  .... what is it?
Thanks Smiley
14 REPLIES 14
jelv
Seasoned Hero
Fixes: 10

Re: Weird uploading problems

On Windows line terminators are CR LF, on the web server the line endings are LF only - the conversion is done automatically by the FTP transfer. The file sizes are therefore always a bit smaller than on your local PC.
The most usual problem with images not displaying or files not being available is that absolute paths have been used instead of relative paths. If you give us your website URL we will probably be able to tell you very quickly what is wrong.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
7up
Community Veteran
Fixes: 17

Are the file paths the same as they were on your local system for the images? - It sounds like a file path issue. If you give us the address we can take a look at the source.
File sizes do vary from one OS to another - Windows reports 2 different sizes in XP - it shows the file size and then the file on disk size... whatever thats meant to mean! I wouldn't worry about the file sizes being different on the server.