cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Webspace FTP Site

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,353
Thanks: 1,898
Fixes: 176
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Webspace FTP Site

I haven't FTP'd my home site for ages but today I needed to access it.
Using Firefox's FTP bolt on I put in the usual details:
# FTP server: homepages.force9.net
# Username: **************
# Password: Your account password
but was unable to login. I tried a couple of FTP clients still no luck.
I checked the settings on my account/website settings...ok.
Then I looked on Help & Support and found a different FTP server namely ftp.force9.net. I tried this and Heh Presto I'm in.
So WHY does it say homepages.force9.net on my accountHuh
When did this change happen and is it as a result of the merging of Force9 and PlusNet accounts?
I'll stake a month's salary that the rest of the world knew about this already.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 64.0 (64-bit)

5 REPLIES
Highlighted
Prod_Man
Grafter
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎04-08-2007

Re: Webspace FTP Site

Long shot but ..
PlusNets' setup of FTP Servers may have been imposed on Force9.
PlusNets' 'WWW' FTP Service is arranged innitally by connecting the hostname "ftp.plus.net" that directs you to one of 4/5 Servers (as far as I know) that handel the transfers and sessions.
I guess this has been changed for simplicity in that the PlusNet Group then has a standard : ftp.ISP.ext..
I didn't know anything about this as I am a PlusNet Customer...
Just my guess as to why the change has been introduced.
Jim,
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,353
Thanks: 1,898
Fixes: 176
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Webspace FTP Site

I've just checked the three force9 accounts I have access to and all three have 'homepages.force9.net' as their FTP server URL.
If this is incorrect then new users must be either visiting the help files in droves or giving up on their web space altogether.
Maybe a staff member can put me straight on this?

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 64.0 (64-bit)

Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Posts: 4,143
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎15-04-2007

Re: Webspace FTP Site

Hi FretMaster
Well I have tried it and it works for me:
ftp://homepages.force9.net/htdocs/
I am puzzled why it won't work for you!  Huh
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,353
Thanks: 1,898
Fixes: 176
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Webspace FTP Site

Hi Gary
I don't understand it yet.
I tried from home last night and connected using ftp.force9.net but failed using homepages.force9.net.
Thanks for the confirmation though  Smiley
Dick

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 64.0 (64-bit)

Prod_Man
Grafter
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎04-08-2007

Re: Webspace FTP Site

Upon alittle investigation of another site hosted on Force9...
it seems 'hompages.force9.net'
may possibly have another hostname
'hp.force9.net'
at the moment all three render the FTP Login Prompts this end.
Jim,