cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Website has exceeded bandwidth for 4th time.

g3ucq
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎18-04-2009

Website has exceeded bandwidth for 4th time.

As the title but how do I prevent this from happening again?  Can I add some code? 
If there is an answer please give me chapter and verse.
Thank you in adavcne.
John
14 REPLIES 14
spraxyt
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,063
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Website has exceeded bandwidth for 4th time.

Do you host some high resolution images (or other large large size files) on your website that might attract lots of visitors (eg via search engine links)? Or could other websites be hot linking to images on your site because they are attractive?
The first step is to find out which parts of your website are associated with the high levels of usage, then you are in a position to work out how to deal with it.
David
g3ucq
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎18-04-2009

Re: Website has exceeded bandwidth for 4th time.

Thank you for your reply. I think now that it is hot linking that is likely to be causing the problem as I have a number of images on my website which are rather special.  (www.soqotra.info for those interested.) So I am looking into ways of preventing that.
John
avatastic
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Website has exceeded bandwidth for 4th time.

Is this http://www.htaccesstools.com/hotlink-protection/ of any use?
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
g3ucq
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎18-04-2009

Re: Website has exceeded bandwidth for 4th time.

Thank you avatastic.  I found that site, created the .htaccess file and uploaded it to my website.  Now I cannot see any images! Cry
John
avatastic
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Website has exceeded bandwidth for 4th time.

Did you add both http://www.johnfarrar.plus.com/ and www.soqotra.info as allowed domains?
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: ‎08-12-2013

Re: Website has exceeded bandwidth for 4th time.

http://www.soqotra.info/ is now redirecting to http://www.johnfarrar.plus.com/
Is this supposed to happen ?Huh
g3ucq
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎18-04-2009

Re: Website has exceeded bandwidth for 4th time.

Yes that is OK.
Avatastic. No I had not added both URLs but I have now done that and the images are back again.  Thank you very much for the hint.
It is still possible to save an image and copy the location of an image so has hot linking prevention really been added?
Thanks again
John
dick:quote
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: ‎08-12-2013

Re: Website has exceeded bandwidth for 4th time.

I can confirm that the images are back here also Wink
g3ucq
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎18-04-2009

Re: Website has exceeded bandwidth for 4th time.

Hi
Thanks.  I just used a hotlink checker and it seems that prevention is running OK.
Do you guys agree?
John
Oldjim
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,035
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Website has exceeded bandwidth for 4th time.

http://www.johnfarrar.plus.com/wpimages/ec9c.jpg is blocked
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: ‎08-12-2013

Re: Website has exceeded bandwidth for 4th time.

Testing image

http://www.johnfarrar.plus.com/wpimages/82a3.jpg looks blocked to me Wink

g3ucq
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎18-04-2009

Re: Website has exceeded bandwidth for 4th time.

Excellent.  Thank you for your time and help.
Have a good weekend.
John
forsterbalcke
Grafter
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Website has exceeded bandwidth for 4th time.

I have the same problem.
My website has been Archived for exceeding bandwidth - never happened before!
www.holywellhousepublishing.co.uk
What is my band width allowance?
Why am I so popular all of a sudden!
How do I find out if pages are being hot linked?
Or is there another explanation?
And why does Plusnet cut you off without offering any advice or help in solving the problem?
Bill
[Moderator's note by Dick(Strat) All caps edited.
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,877
Thanks: 2,479
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Website has exceeded bandwidth for 4th time.

Please see my reply to your post here.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵