cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Website builder

mikegm
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Website builder

What's happened to the website builder. There'sMetaTag creator and site submit, but no build your own???
18 REPLIES 18
Liam
Grafter
Posts: 2,083
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Website builder

We removed access to the Website Builder a couple of months ago as we upgraded security on the Portal Servers and it was incompatible with the upgrade.  Unfortunately, a new version was not an option at the time.
We're currently reviewing options for a replacement, but in the meantime - take a look here if you're looking to build your own website :-
http://www.hit-counter-download.com/free-website-builder.html
stewarta13wsb
Grafter
Posts: 449
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Website builder

I have a similar thread on the old Forum - http://portal.plus.net/central/forums/viewtopic.php?t=54433
I've tried the Composer suggestion, downloaded as part of Netscape - and free too!
Although I made a page quite easily, and have validated it successfully, I can't upload it to my PlusNet webspace?Huh
I don't want to divert this thread but 'mikegm' may find himself in a similar situation soon, so can somebody tell me how to replace my old WebBuilder page with my updated Composer page?Huh
Thanks,
Stewart
John_Essex
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,983
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Website builder

Im not sure where the software you are using stores the completed page but I will assume its in a folder on your PC.
If thisis the case then in your browser address window enter ftp://ftp.plus.net
You will be presented with a box requesting your username and password.
Complete these and you will then find a window with your web space in it.
Navigate to the folder called htdocs and you should see your old files.
Delete these and then drag and drop the newly created ones into the htdocs folder.
You could also download a FTP client such as Cute ftp and use one of those if you wanted instead of the method above.
Hope that helps.
Oldjim
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,035
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Website builder

You could also change to Firefox with the FireFTP addon which I find very easy to use.
stewarta13wsb
Grafter
Posts: 449
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Website builder

Thanks for the link John, now all deleted and dragged the new stuff over... but the images only show as little coloured boxes - no images (although the outline shape/size is there)
Do you have to wait for some overnight change for them to be uploaded?
Peter_Vaughan
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Website builder

The path to your images is wrong.
e.g. file:///D:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Stewart%20Borland.HOMESYSTEM/My%20Documents/My%20Pictures/Cars/avatar.jpg
Which will clearly work on your own PC but that path is completely wrong for the web server.
Where have you put the images in relation to the home page. If they are in an images folder, so the above is actually images/Cars/avatar.jpg, then the above line should only contain "images/Cars/avatar.jpg".
All files and links need to be referenced relative to where the .html page is.
This is often the problem with some web packages that assume you will run the website where you are developing it (i.e. on yur own PC) rather than on a separate web server and they often then get the path to the images wrong unless you know what you are doing and can specify it relative to the html file.
stewarta13wsb
Grafter
Posts: 449
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Website builder

Thanks for that Peter... off for another attempt... I will get there eventually (but probably not without the support of all you guys  Wink
Many thanks to all.
John_Essex
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,983
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Website builder

The normal reason why you are seeing the %20 figure in the path is because you are using file names with a space  in them. Wont stop it working but adds to the confusion.  Sad
To avoid the confusion I always make my file names one word. You can if need be make them look like file_name with the underscore if it helps clarity to have two or more words for the file name.
Another thing to do is to only ever use lowercase for all files and there extensions. I have in the past spent ages trying to figure out why a file couldn't be seen to eventualy find a stray capital letter and I have called it from all lower case.
So it is a good habit to get into to make everything lower case.
Keep at it and you will get there.  Wink
stewarta13wsb
Grafter
Posts: 449
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Website builder

Just when you thought it was safe to return to the forums... el thicko is back  Embarrassed
My picture links now read like this -
src="file:///ftp://stewarta13wsb@ftp.plus.net/htdocs/DSCF0007.JPG"
but although they no longer show on my PC, they don't show on line either, which begs another question - the background has the original link (like the one you quoted, starting with the D drive, and it works) why is that when the other photos don't, and what's wrong with the new links?
Sorry to be a pain,
Stewart
just saw the other post, is it upper/lower case that's doing it now?
John_Essex
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,983
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Website builder

Err you seem to be going overboard with the link.  Wink
It should look like this assuming that the image is in the same folder as the index file. <IMG SRC="trip5.jpg" WIDTH="384" HEIGHT="288">
The above is a copy of a link from one of my web pages. If you don't know the width and hight then leave that out alltogether and just use <IMG SRC="trip5.jpg"> with of course the name for your own image.
If you are unsure about html commands then this is my bible http://www.idocs.com/ where you can find out how to do just about anything with html code.
Edit:- added link to idocs site.
stewarta13wsb
Grafter
Posts: 449
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Website builder

Thanks for your patience - it's working! Grin
And that's without Website Builder... if I can do it, anybody can.
So use your PlusNet space with Composer via Netscape and the whole exercise is free and almost painless!!
www.stewarta13wsb.plus.com if you want a look at the work in progress.
EDIT: one snag - looks fine on my screen @ 1024x768 but a hideous mess at 800x600 - how do you allow for that?
John_Essex
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,983
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Website builder

Well done.
Loch Leven looks magnificent  Smiley Brings back memories of my last visit to that part of the world.
stewarta13wsb
Grafter
Posts: 449
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Website builder

Last question (?) When somebody else views the page, is the yellow text too pale to read or is there a background showing (water bubbles on a nicely waxed car) ?Huh
Peter_Vaughan
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Website builder

Yes I get bubbles and the yellow text is readable but the blue links in the middle are not.
Next you need to learn about reducing the size (in bytes) of your images as some are too big and take a while to load.