cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Uploading website Problems

dbitalia
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎17-12-2007

Uploading website Problems

Hi Guys
I have recently registered with a dial up plus net site, I have a website that I am trying to upload, I am using core ftp and have entered the relevant details i.e. user name and password but every time I try and connect it comes up with login incorrect, thing is I cant see how the login is incorrect as I can log into my plus net page,
Any info is extremely appreciated
6 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,682
Thanks: 665
Fixes: 167
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Uploading website Problems

Hi there,
Are you connection via a PlusNet connection when trying to connect to the FTP servers? If you are using a PAYG dial-up account you won't be able to access them otherwise.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
dbitalia
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎17-12-2007

Re: Uploading website Problems

no, i am using virgin for my internet connection, so in order for me to upload to my plusnet dialup webspace, i have to use the plus net dial up connection to the internetHuh
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,746
Thanks: 959
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Uploading website Problems

That's correct
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Not applicable

Re: Uploading website Problems

Thats right - its a security measure (albeit a blunt instrument)
You can only access your PN webspace from a PN internet connection.
dbitalia
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎17-12-2007

Re: Uploading website Problems

Is there no way round this so i can use my cable internet to upload content?Huh
I have just connected via my plusnet dialup account and its still giving me the same issue
Any ideas?Huh
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Uploading website Problems

I thought the PN IP restriction was for CCGI access. You can upload to your www webspace from any connection.
Or is the free account different to broadband accounts?