cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to access our websites

behaviourneeds
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎20-03-2013

Unable to access our websites

Hi.
Last night our web server was brought down (and suspended) by a huge influx of traffic our hosts thought it was a DOS attack however it was just a promotion we ran.
Anyway - it's now available through all other internet connections (bt etc) except our office line which is with you guys.  Have you limited it anyway?
Cheers
CHris
16 REPLIES 16
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Unable to access our websites

I'm not sure why we would have done, can you PM me the URL and I'll try and access it from our test line?
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
behaviourneeds
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎20-03-2013

Re: Unable to access our websites

Cheers.
Sent you some over now.
Thanks
Chris
behaviourneeds
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎20-03-2013

Re: Unable to access our websites

Hi.
I have just found this link which is showing that its loading fine all over the world (including from my bt line at home) https://geopeeker.com/fetch/?url=theliferaft.org but just not on our plusnet line.
Thanks
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Unable to access our websites

Thanks for the PM. I've just tested them from the office lines and can access the sites fine. I'm going to try and get these tested from someone's home connection too.
I wonder if the pages are cached from when they were unavailable, have you tried clearing the cache on one of the affected computers?
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
behaviourneeds
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎20-03-2013

Re: Unable to access our websites

I have just cleared the cache etc on my PC and all sites on the server are completely down.
I am just getting the standard Page Cannot Be Displayed message
Cheers
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Unable to access our websites

We've had no issues accessing those sites from here or from an external Plusnet connection.
What do you see if you tracert to the IP the domains are hosted at?
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
behaviourneeds
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎20-03-2013

Re: Unable to access our websites

Hi.
Here is the response of the tracert.
Tracing route to server.lesson-ology.com [82.145.60.195]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    46 ms    99 ms    99 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
  2    21 ms    27 ms    20 ms  lo0-central10.pcl-ag08.plus.net [195.166.128.189
]
  3    21 ms    20 ms    20 ms  link-a-central10.pcl-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.18
8]
  4    21 ms    21 ms    20 ms  xe-9-1-0.pcl-cr01.plus.net [212.159.0.220]
  5    23 ms    24 ms    20 ms  ae1.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.0]
  6    20 ms    20 ms    20 ms  ae2.ptw-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129.5]
  7    21 ms    66 ms    67 ms  te3-4.core1.hex.as20860.net [195.66.236.207]
  8    22 ms    22 ms    22 ms  610.net2.north.dc5.as20860.net [62.233.127.182]
  9    21 ms    22 ms    22 ms  87.117.212.30
10    *        *        *    Request timed out.
11    *        *        *    Request timed out.
12    *        *        *    Request timed out.
13    *    ^C
I canceled it after 13 hops as it just seemed to be timing out then
Cheers
Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 30,533
Thanks: 3,435
Fixes: 514
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Unable to access our websites

Mine for reference
Tracing route to server.lesson-ology.com [82.145.60.195] over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  gateway [192.168.1.254]
  2    86 ms  128 ms    13 ms  lo0-central10.ptw-ag03.plus.net [195.166.128.197]
  3    14 ms    13 ms    13 ms  link-a-central10.ptw-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.152]
  4    13 ms    13 ms    12 ms  xe-4-3-0.ptw-cr01.plus.net [212.159.0.244]
  5    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  6    15 ms    15 ms    14 ms  593.net1.north.dc5.as20860.net [62.233.127.174]
  7    15 ms    14 ms    14 ms  87.117.211.30
  8    15 ms    14 ms    14 ms  server.lesson-ology.com [82.145.60.195]

Trace complete.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 89.0.2 (64-bit)

behaviourneeds
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎20-03-2013

Re: Unable to access our websites

Thanks Strat.
The ip address 87.117.212.30 seems to be some form of abuse robot and looks to have blocked our IP address from accessing the server
We have a static IP address at the moment can this be removed and assigned a dynamic one to see if we can then access the websites.
Cheers
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Unable to access our websites

I wondered if it might be a gateway issue - but it's not:
C:\Users\John>tracert server.lesson-ology.com
Tracing route to server.lesson-ology.com [82.145.60.195]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    *        1 ms    1 ms  tg582 [192.168.1.254]
  2    28 ms    19 ms    27 ms  lo0-central10.pcl-ag08.plus.net [195.166.128.189]
  3    19 ms    18 ms    18 ms  link-b-central10.pcl-gw02.plus.net [212.159.2.190]
  4    19 ms    17 ms    19 ms  xe-9-1-0.pcl-cr02.plus.net [212.159.0.222]
  5    28 ms    17 ms    18 ms  ae1.ptw-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129.2]
  6    18 ms    17 ms    18 ms  te3-4.core1.hex.as20860.net [195.66.236.207]
  7    20 ms    19 ms    18 ms  610.net2.north.dc5.as20860.net [62.233.127.182]
  8    19 ms    18 ms    19 ms  87.117.212.30
  9    19 ms    19 ms    18 ms  server.lesson-ology.com [82.145.60.195]
Trace complete.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
behaviourneeds
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎20-03-2013

Re: Unable to access our websites

Cheers.
This is looking more and more like our ip has been blacklisted by the abuse robot that resides on 87.117.212.30
Can I ring up and just get a dynamic ip address assigned
Cheers
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Unable to access our websites

Have you got a static IP icon in https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=myconnection&?membermenu=connectionsettings ?
The other possibility is an MTU issue.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
behaviourneeds
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎20-03-2013

Re: Unable to access our websites

We should have...
Infact there are two icons in the member centre for static IP's  one tells us we are on a dynamic and the other one tells us that we are static and what we expect the address to be....

Cheers
behaviourneeds
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎20-03-2013

Re: Unable to access our websites

Quote from: jelv
...The other possibility is an MTU issue.

whilst not averse to this - surely it would be on a per pc basis and it would be very strange that 6 pc's would be affected?  or am I mis-understanding how it all works
cheers