cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to access .CH govt sites

BadToro1
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎24-05-2019

Unable to access .CH govt sites

I'm unable to access .ch govt websites using plusnet fibre -

***this is not an issue using vpn or mobile phone connection or from work***

an example is:

admin.ch

162.23.130.190

 

Traceroute times out after 15 hops

gi101-befll15a-sge-ice1.inetbb.admin.ch

 

Please note that admin.ch is the equivalent of .gov.uk websites in the UK.

 

I've tested other .ch websites and there are no issues, example srf.ch (equivalent of bbc.co.uk).

 

Clearly there is a routing problem via plusnet, can this be looked at and fixed?

 

Thank you.

 

14 REPLIES 14
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 9,319
Thanks: 3,070
Fixes: 103
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Unable to access .CH govt sites

Welcome  to the forums, @BadToro1 . This won't help you, unfortunately, but I had no problem accessing the site you mention.

As a point of interest, can you post the traceroute you get, because it sounds like the problem is outside the Plusnet area, given where you fail.

John
BadToro1
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎24-05-2019

Re: Unable to access .CH govt sites

hey @jab1 thanks for your message.

 

Unfortunately, i can confirm that using connections other than my plusnet fibre there are no issues.

I have no doubts this is not a plusnet-wide network issue, but certainly it is an issue with ip ranges in my area, otherwise i would not be able to explain why you would be able to connect.

At any rate, i will try and get a traceroute as soon as i can.

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 9,319
Thanks: 3,070
Fixes: 103
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Unable to access .CH govt sites

I seem to remember someone else having this problem quite a while back, but unfortunately can't find the thread to see if/how it was resolved, but I know it was.

John
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,024
Thanks: 5,355
Fixes: 1,339
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Unable to access .CH govt sites

Just another report of it working here on my PN connection.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
BadToro1
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎24-05-2019

Re: Unable to access .CH govt sites

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,024
Thanks: 5,355
Fixes: 1,339
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Unable to access .CH govt sites

It suggests that if you add static ip in the member center (£5 one off fee) then it *may* fix your problem, or may not.

Otherwise you'll have to wait for a PN staffer to come and offer some help, which given the current situation may be a while Sad
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
BadToro1
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎24-05-2019

Re: Unable to access .CH govt sites

@dvorak i don't mind paying the £5 but it seems a gamble (i'd rather invest it in a lottery tkt lol),  i'd do if the tech support could check it worked...and that's not going to happen.

Marksfish
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,042
Thanks: 269
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-11-2014

Re: Unable to access .CH govt sites

Not working for me. I am on the 143.159.80 range of ip addresses. I just get a "took too long to respond" error.

BadToro1
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎24-05-2019

Re: Unable to access .CH govt sites

I’m on 146.198.x.x
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 9,319
Thanks: 3,070
Fixes: 103
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Unable to access .CH govt sites

51.6.205.xx - totally different to the two above.

John
BadToro1
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎24-05-2019

Re: Unable to access .CH govt sites

Plusnet staff any advice please?
BadToro1
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎24-05-2019

Re: Unable to access .CH govt sites

Any acknowledgement from Plusnet staff? Things are slowly going gave to normal I’m hoping someone picks it up and provides a solution to an annoying problem.
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,431
Thanks: 3,134
Fixes: 194
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Unable to access .CH govt sites

A traceroute from a non-working connection would be a good start. Based on one of your opening posts, the traffic is hitting the admin.ch domain so there's every chance the blocking/issue could be at the remote side. Looks likely that it's something to do with certain IP ranges we issue mind you.

I suspect a static IP would fix it. Be good to get to the bottom of things though.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

BadToro1
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎24-05-2019

Re: Unable to access .CH govt sites

If there was any guarantee that a static IP would fix it I’d go for it
Unfortunately it sounds like a gamble as I can’t choose my IP address, thus bit pointless spending any money.