cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Static IP address won’t activate

FIXED
arlilly
Newbie
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎08-07-2021

Static IP address won’t activate

I have bought a static IP address but when I goto the static IP address on the plus.net website and I click on activate my static ip the webpage reloads but nothing changes and still says I am on a dynamic IP address.
Any help on this matter would be appreciated.
15 REPLIES 15
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,121
Thanks: 2,691
Fixes: 217
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Static IP address won’t activate

@arlilly  Welcome to the forum.

It isn’t instantaneous, you have to be transferred to a different Plusnet sub system. When did you pay?

Note that once activated you need to reboot your hub to pick up your new IP address.

 

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,656
Thanks: 5,173
Fixes: 1,297
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Static IP address won’t activate


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Fibre to Everything Else

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
arlilly
Newbie
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎08-07-2021

Re: Static IP address won’t activate

About a month ago.
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,121
Thanks: 2,691
Fixes: 217
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Static IP address won’t activate

@arlilly 

It sounds like it hasn’t been activated. You need to either contact Plusnet or wait for a staffer to come along here.

adam945
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,053
Thanks: 239
Fixes: 55
Registered: ‎01-12-2020

Re: Static IP address won’t activate

Hi @arlilly

 

Thanks a lot for reaching out, I'd also like to apologise for any inconvenience caused here. I've just checked this out and have found that the component was a little stuck on our end. We've auto-configured it now, so if you'd like to pop back onto your Member Centre and give it another go, it should be fine.

 

Give your router a reboot as well if you're having any further issues.

 Adam
 Plusnet Help Team - Leeds
arlilly
Newbie
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎08-07-2021

Re: Static IP address won’t activate

The activate box has now disappeared, it tells me to create a support ticket to enable?

adam945
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,053
Thanks: 239
Fixes: 55
Registered: ‎01-12-2020

Re: Static IP address won’t activate

Hi @arlilly

 

This is likely because the component has already been activated on our end. It can take a few hours for the static IP to be assigned though. Have a look this evening / tomorrow, and let us know if you're still not able to see your static IP address.

 Adam
 Plusnet Help Team - Leeds
arlilly
Newbie
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎08-07-2021

Re: Static IP address won’t activate

Still no change, website says :-

Your static IP details
Current Status: You are currently using a dynamic IP address




Adding or removing a Static IP
If you'd like to add or remove a Static IP please raise a Ticket or call our Support Team on 0800 432 0200 or 0345 140 0200
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,121
Thanks: 2,691
Fixes: 217
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Static IP address won’t activate

@arlilly 

Have you re-booted your hub? You must do this to drop the dynamic address.

If you switch the hub off and leave it a minute it will pick up the fixed address when it re-synchronises.

arlilly
Newbie
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎08-07-2021

Re: Static IP address won’t activate

I have rebooted the hub but the website hasn’t changed, it doesn’t show my static IP address.
adam945
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,053
Thanks: 239
Fixes: 55
Registered: ‎01-12-2020

Re: Static IP address won’t activate

Hi @arlilly

 

Thanks a lot for reaching out again., and I'm really sorry to see that we're still having issues with your Static IP. I've made some changes on the account, which is the reason why you may have just received an email stating that your Broadband is ready to go.

 

Give your router another reboot and let us know how you get on.

 Adam
 Plusnet Help Team - Leeds
arlilly
Newbie
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎08-07-2021

Re: Static IP address won’t activate

Router rebooted, and no change on the static ip front, but it does now say my line speed has doubled from 39m to 80m.
adam945
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,053
Thanks: 239
Fixes: 55
Registered: ‎01-12-2020

Re: Static IP address won’t activate

Thanks for your response @arlilly

 

That's because I've reconfigured the Broadband component, hoping this would sort things out with the static IP, obviously not. The connection profile will update itself over the next few days to reflect the Broadband Profile on our suppliers side.

 

Anyway, I've just removed, and re-added the Static IP component on your account, so you might see another one off charge of £5.00, don't worry though, I've popped a credit on the account to counteract this on your next bill.

 

I know we've asked you to do this a couple of times already, but if you'd like to give your router a reset, leave it off for a couple of minutes in between. You should then be able to activate your static IP.

 

 

 Adam
 Plusnet Help Team - Leeds
adam945
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,053
Thanks: 239
Fixes: 55
Registered: ‎01-12-2020

Re: Static IP address won’t activate

Fix

Just had another look @arlilly

 

Looks like you're all set up now Smiley

 

I just want to apologise for the length of time to took to get that sorted, feel free to give us a shout if you have any further issues at all.

 Adam
 Plusnet Help Team - Leeds