Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Starting out and advice needed please

Jekyll
Grafter

Starting out and advice needed please

Hello,
I am just starting out with building a website, but I don't understand something about images, pictures etc......I do not have any means with which to put up pictures I have taken (don't have any come to think of it), no Scanner or such like equipment, so my question is am I limited to just having a text only site? and if not where can I get images from for free..........I feel like this is asking too much, as these days nothing is free.
But I really need to be able to get pictures up on my site, although what, I am not sure exactly.......I have always read that you can't go grabbing pictures off of anyones website and I understand that and never would do. But are there websites that you can get pictures/images etc from?
Jekyll  Smiley
9 REPLIES 9
pierre_pierre
Grafter

Re: Starting out and advice needed please

What sort of pictures are you after, what subjects do you want photos or line drawings?
a rough specification a few of use on here might be able to help.
Yes it is bad practice to grab pictures of other sites and include them in yours, although, you can sometimes get the permission of the original owner.
Jekyll
Grafter

Well I was a big fan of the series on TV called "Jekyll" to see what I mean see link below) and would have liked pictures from that adorning my site, a background wallpaper would have been nice to, but not sure if there is such things about, then pictures say of the human brain (so as for me to explain about my Epilepsy etc........pictures or rather a picture of the brain with descriptions of the various parts of the brain on it (hope this is all making sense  Smiley
I guess that would be for starters........I also wanted to have a Jekyll background for my forum too but have not been able to find anything from the series that I could use.
Here is the link: