cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting up a Domain Name on Domain Monster.com

Pancho
Grafter

Setting up a Domain Name on Domain Monster.com

Trying to help a person who is on Plus Net. He has registered a Domain Name with an organisation called Domain Monster.com. Does anybody know what he needs to do to get his Domain Name to point to his web pages on Plus? I have never done this before so I am interested in how to do it as well. You have to fill in an online control panel but that is all I know. What information do you need to have in order to get it to work? I suspect this might apply to other Domain Name outfits. My pages are registered through Plus so I did not need to go through this setup process.
5 REPLIES 5
The_10th
Grafter

Re: Setting up a Domain Name on Domain Monster.com

Check this page in particular the part about 'Hosting Only' transfer. He will need to change the DNS Control Panel to include ns1.force9.net & ns2.force9.net and raise a ticket with Plusnet informing them what you want to do as they have to make config changes too.
HTH
Pancho
Grafter

Thank you for helping; I have passed the information on to the person concerned. I fear it will be some time before he gets it going. He has made some simple web pages and bought a domain name with this Domain Monster.com outfit but that is the end of his capabilities (he says). I got my domain name through Plus a long time ago so did not have all this bother. If anybody has more information that would be useful to him please add. All I can do is pass it on to him.
Penny
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 8

... quite glad this thread has appeared, actually.
A few days back I changed the nameservers to Force 9 for a domain currently registered with 123-reg (previously with freeola).
(changing the nameservers is really straightforward - if I can do it, anyone can :/)