cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Server Side Includes (SSI)

mindwarp

Server Side Includes (SSI)

Hi,
I am fairly new at web site coding, the first attempt wasn't ideal, so now I am trying to "revamp" my website with a little more understanding.  I want to use server side includes (SSI) and tried this out with one of my pages (not linked to the rest of the site at the time) - the include worked (for a nav. menu to the left of my page).  So I carried on working on the pages locally to change them all to use an include instead of copying the nav menu to each one.  So far so good.  I then went back to check what version of the test page was in place on plusnet and found that the include had stopped working.  It did wonder if it was me changing something, but my wife was sat by me at the initial eureka moment when it worked!!
So after looking at it for some time and failing for the include to work again, I tried a really simple skeleton of a page and this also fails.
At this point logged a ticket and waited for a couple of days and now have a response that it "...appears to be an issue with the framing/code of your page ...".  Which is less than helpful.
So I tried to test with a free web site hoster and the exact same code works there...
The simple skeleton is :
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
<HTML>
<HEAD>
<META HTTP-EQUIV="CONTENT-TYPE" CONTENT="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
</HEAD>
<BODY LANG="en-GB" DIR="LTR">
<p>
this is the body - some text should appear after here<br>
<b><!--#include virtual="/test.shtml" --></b>
</P>
</BODY>
</HTML>

The  test.shtml only has this line in it:
 This is the included text<br>

Can anyone please shed some light on this?  especially as it has worked on PN & does work on another host site!?
Many thanks
13 REPLIES 13
Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Re: Server Side Includes (SSI)

Is the file as php or html ?
Is this on:
http://www.username.f9.co.uk