cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Safeguard website block not working

allix
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎07-02-2018

Safeguard website block not working

I've got Safeguard working for categories, but cannot block specific websites. I want to block tumblr due to the amount of porn it contains. If I add tumblr to the list of blocked websites, it has no effect.

 

I also tried blocking Social Media, which does block tumblr, but also blocks all other social media sites, which I don't want. I added Facebook to the allowed sites, but this was still blocked.

 

Please help.

 

 

18 REPLIES 18
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,540
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Safeguard website block not working

Unfortunately safeguard does not work Lips_are_sealed   you would do better asking Mr Google for some free software

or read here https://community.plus.net/t5/Broadband/SafeGuard/m-p/1438587

 

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
allix
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎07-02-2018

Re: Safeguard website block not working

The problem with software is that it would need to be installed on every device which the kids would easily get around.

 

I'd like to use OpenDNS, but I can't change DNS settings on the router, so I'm left with a situation where the supplied system isn't effective, but we're locked into using the supplied system.

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,540
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Safeguard website block not working

Hi , No you are not locked into using PN router you can Buy your own to use as do several here Thumbs_Up

I myself have a Asus Ac68U but there several others you can choose from , as you say the Very basic PN supplied one is not

usefull for you needs

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 17,000
Thanks: 7,100
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Safeguard website block not working

Hi @allix,

A warm welcome to the forums.

Do you have a fixed IP address?

allix
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎07-02-2018

Re: Safeguard website block not working

My router's ip address is fixed.
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 17,000
Thanks: 7,100
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Safeguard website block not working

Thought as much - it fits a pattern!

Superuser citation

This topic has been cited by one of the Superusers; the purpose of which is to provide a note for information which might help to focus continued discussion (but might not result in a staff response).


 

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 18,605
Thanks: 6,113
Fixes: 1,017
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Safeguard website block not working

Sorry to hear you're having problems with Safeguard @allix

Are you still using the router we sent you?

As far as I'm aware you should be able to change the DNS settings for that router.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
allix
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎07-02-2018

Re: Safeguard website block not working

I was supplied with a BT HomeHub although I've never got the internet from BT. If you have routers that allow you to change DNS, how can I get one? I've been a customer for more than 10 years and haven't had any hardware in that time (apart from the BT Infinity box)

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 18,605
Thanks: 6,113
Fixes: 1,017
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Safeguard website block not working

The type of router we send out nowadays is similar to the Homehub and the DNS can't be changed on it.

Unfortunately we can't order you the router we sent initially as we don't stock them anymore.

With that said, I'm sending you our updated router anyway as it should work automatically with Safeguard.

Please let us know how it goes when you receive it.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 17,000
Thanks: 7,100
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Safeguard website block not working

@Gandalf - not if the user has a fixed IP address - which they believe they have.

allix
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎07-02-2018

Re: Safeguard website block not working

I do have a fixed IP address

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,099
Thanks: 4,585
Fixes: 1,167
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Safeguard website block not working

I'm surprised safeguard is working at all to be honest with a static ip.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
allix
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎07-02-2018

Re: Safeguard website block not working

Looks like I might be buying a new router 😞

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 17,000
Thanks: 7,100
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Safeguard website block not working

Other than you might be able to set the DNS servers yourself with a different router, the issue will remain.

This issue has been raised by the super users.

 

How essential is your fixed IP address?  Not having one will allow Safeguard to work properly.