cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SMF forum won't work on CCGI

Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Posts: 4,154
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎15-04-2007

SMF forum won't work on CCGI

SMF Forum Script won't.  Sad
11 REPLIES 11
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

SMF forum won't work on CCGI

Gary, What makes you think that? I've just checked on the SMF website and it says the minimum requirements are PHP 4.1.0 or higher.
I have SMF forums running on ccgi.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Posts: 4,154
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎15-04-2007

SMF forum won't work on CCGI

Hi jelv see this that mcgurka aka Scott done for me.   Sad
The CGI platform is not working properly, why do I say this because Scott has had more trouble van it is werth.   Sad  Sad
[Edit]
Link Removed, the Forum is up and working.  Wink  Smiley
MikeWhitehead
Grafter
Posts: 748
Registered: ‎19-08-2007

SMF forum won't work on CCGI

Quote from: Midnight
Hi jelv see this that mcgurka aka Scott done for me.  Sad
The CGI platform is not working properly, why do I say this because Scott has had more trouble van it is werth.  Sad  Sad

That looks like it either can't find the stylesheet or the stylesheet isn't formatted properly. Are you sure it has been uploaded to the path http://ccgi.dyslexia.force9.co.uk/cgi-bin/forum/Themes/classic/style.css and/or has suitable permissions applied? Just a thought.
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

SMF forum won't work on CCGI

Is installing inside cgi-bin a good idea?
Moderators can you split the last few posts out to a separate topic please as this is nothing to do with php5 as SMF 1.1.4 runs perfectly well under php4 on ccgi.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Peter_Vaughan
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

SMF forum won't work on CCGI

The forum must NOT be put in cgi-bin. It should be in a folder off your root directory.
Colin
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,264
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: SMF forum won't work on CCGI

Yeah, although the PHP etc. will work within the cgi-bin, acess to anything else (like CSS and images) won't so the solution is as Peter said.
avantime4mike
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎13-03-2008

Re: SMF forum won't work on CCGI

As a complete novice, I can vouch for the fact that css does not work if the forum is uploaded to the cgi-bin folder. Everything else worked for me. I am using Vanilla 1.1.4
Now I have a different problem. After having trouble clearing the cgi-bin folder I had the webspace cleared and reset by Plusnet and ftp'd the website and forum folder back on but in the root directory. Now the webpages are accessible but I can't navigate to the forum folder to run the php install script.
All permissions set via chmod 755
Anybody any ideas?
Website at :- http://ccgi.widlof.force9.co.uk
FTP screen shots:- http://ccgi.widlof.force9.co.uk/images/ftpscreenshot.jpg
& http://ccgi.widlof.force9.co.uk/images/forumscreenshot.jpg
Peter_Vaughan
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: SMF forum won't work on CCGI

It appears the permissions on Forum/setup/index.php are no set correctly.
Note: you have used a capital F in forum which is not something I would recommend. The CCGI server uses *nix (Apache) and all filenames are case sensitive, unlike WIndows where Forum and forum are the same..
You need to login to the ccgi shell and run fixphpperms.sh -r to correctly set the file permissions on all php files. Then you can run the setup.
avantime4mike
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎13-03-2008

Re: SMF forum won't work on CCGI

Thank you Peter,
Changing the F to f has sorted the access problem but excuse my ignorance how do I login to the ccgi shell? Sorry! Undecided
Mike
Peter_Vaughan
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: SMF forum won't work on CCGI

avantime4mike
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎13-03-2008

Re: SMF forum won't work on CCGI

Thanks very much Peter for your help. The forum is up and running now but no doubt those links will be very handy as I mess it up whilst tweeking  Smiley