cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Remote hosting of a sub-domain

henridecat
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-12-2008

Remote hosting of a sub-domain

I'm not getting a response to my ticket, so I'll also ask here......
I have the domain kriegsspiel.org.uk. hosted by Plusnet.
I added a new DNS cname record in the DNS control panel:
forum, cname, kriegsspiel.forumotion.net.
I'm expecting this to achieve redirection from the sub-domain forum.kriegsspiel.org.uk to an externally hosted forum I'm setting up at kriegsspiel.forumotion.net
So far so good, BUT when I type http://forum.kriegsspiel.org.uk in my browser I get redirected to a totally different forumotion forum, located at address http://forum.grafbb.com/ !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Try it.
Where is the problem, Plusnet or forumotion? Below is an image of my DNS settings (with a little detail scrubbed).
 
3 REPLIES 3
avatastic
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Remote hosting of a sub-domain

Hi there,
My guess is that the problem lies at forumotion.
The two hosts (your own and the one you are seeing) are pointing to the same machine at forumotion, so its there configuration which needs to be updated to recognise forum.kriegsspiel.org.uk as a new vhosted server on their domain.
Thanks,
A.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Remote hosting of a sub-domain

DNS looks good to me:
C:\Documents and Settings\John>nslookup forum.kriegsspiel.org.uk 212.159.6.9
Server:  ptn-cdns01.plus.net
Address:  212.159.6.9
Non-authoritative answer:
Name:    rnd.darkbb.com
Addresses:  75.126.156.29, 75.126.156.30, 74.86.112.146, 74.86.239.69
          74.86.239.70, 74.86.239.74
Aliases:  forum.kriegsspiel.org.uk, kriegsspiel.forumotion.net
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
henridecat
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-12-2008

Re: Remote hosting of a sub-domain

Sorted!  I needed to set the other end to recognise the address. Thanks guys you pushed me in the right direction.  Cheesy