cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebuilding a Frontpage site with Kompozer

philwalton
Dabbler

Rebuilding a Frontpage site with Kompozer

Hello, sope someone can help. I have limited knowledge.
I had a site with Frontpage which I have started to rewrite with Kompozer.
First - I would like to tidy thinks and remove all my old files from the server but when I try this I get the message:
"Request denied.
Please verify that the file or folder exists and that you have the necessary permissions on the server to perform the requested operation."
I do not know how to give myself permission?
Second - I have been advised by Plusnet that I need to save some XHTML files as HTML files as the Plusnet server will not support XHTML files.
How  can I do this?
The pages I have are very dissapointing so far!!!  www.waltons.plus.com
Thank you for reading.
Phil Walton

9 REPLIES 9
Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Re: Rebuilding a Frontpage site with Kompozer

Hi philwalton
You need to rename your file "mayer.xhtml" for example to: mayer.html or mayer.htm
Hope this helps.
philwalton
Dabbler

Hi, thanks for the reply.
In Kopozer when using "save as" it gives the option of saving as XHTML or other files. I can't find a way of saving as HTML.
Can anyone help please with deleting old files from htdocs on the server - I get the message -  "Request denied.
Please verify that the file or folder exists and that you have the necessary permissions on the server to perform the requested operation."
thanks ..Phil
Gabe
Grafter

Quote from: philwalton
I can't find a way of saving as HTML.

In preferences/advanced, you can change the markup language to html.
deleting old files from htdocs on the server - I get the message -  "Request denied.

Is that message coming from Kompozer? If you can write to htdocs, you should be able to delete from it.
Gabe
hulls
Grafter