Problems With AJAX?
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Mark Topic as New
- Mark Topic as Read
- Float this Topic for Current User
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Printer Friendly Page
- Plusnet Community
- :
- Forum
- :
- Help with my Plusnet services
- :
- Everything else
- :
- Problems With AJAX?
Problems With AJAX?
22-08-2007 9:07 AM
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Report to Moderator
Anybody else had problems running AJAX on sites on plus.net? My scirtpts all run fine and dandy on my own web server, and another service provider, but I get a JavaScript error 'Access Denied' (Code 0) if I run them on my webspace at Plus Net.
I'm assuming it's some sort of permissions on the files? Any ideas?
Cheers,
Steve Wells
w: http://hogsmill.com
e: info@hogsmill.com
Re: Problems With AJAX?
22-08-2007 9:33 AM
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Report to Moderator
I've not tried any AJAX code in my PN space, so that's the best I can help without having the code

EDIT: Make sure you CHMOD the files back, else there will almost definately be trouble in the future.
Re: Problems With AJAX?
22-08-2007 2:10 PM
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Report to Moderator
Cheers,
Steve
Re: Problems With AJAX?
22-08-2007 2:37 PM
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Report to Moderator
Re: Problems With AJAX?
23-08-2007 8:56 AM
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Report to Moderator
Re: Problems With AJAX?
24-08-2007 10:43 AM
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Report to Moderator
Have you got a mail address I can send some code to? I've got a very simple AJAX application that demonstrates the problem...
Cheers,
Steve
P.S. If you want to keep your address off the forum, you can send it to cheyne_hill@yahoo.co.uk
Re: Problems With AJAX?
24-08-2007 4:29 PM
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Report to Moderator
Still no further on with the issue, tho' - surely somebody must be running AJAX on Plus Net?
Cheers,
Steve
Re: Problems With AJAX?
24-08-2007 4:39 PM
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Report to Moderator

AJAX isnt a programming language that runs on the servers, its a technique for client-server communications using javascript and XML.....I take it your using PHP for the site as thats all that PN offer.
Your javascript simply talks back to your php site
there is no running of AJAX to have a problem with
Re: Problems With AJAX?
24-08-2007 5:17 PM
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Report to Moderator
Quote Erm, how do you 'run' AJAX?
That's what I was thinking
Re: Problems With AJAX?
24-08-2007 5:18 PM
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Report to Moderator
Re: Problems With AJAX?
24-08-2007 5:48 PM
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Report to Moderator
Quote He means "running AJAX code"
Well obviously.
I just find it strange how the term AJAX has come about and how people refer to it as they would a programing language.
Re: Problems With AJAX?
28-08-2007 10:21 AM
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Report to Moderator
Quote from: astarsolutions
Quote He means "running AJAX code"
Well obviously.
I just find it strange how the term AJAX has come about and how people refer to it as they would a programing language.
Yes, guilty as charged - very sloppy with my terminology. I really just mean xmlHttp requests from JavaScript, so I should really call it AJA, maybe


Anyway, I'm rambling. I've actually now sussed out the problem. It's to do with cross-domain xmlHttp requests (which are not allowed due to browser security). So, I will need to put a (PHP, probably) proxy in between my xmlHttp request and the web server. All a bit scary.
However, if I can get this to work, it opens up a fantastic new architecture where you can populate bits of web sites by making URL calls to various web sites for the info. Thus, you can componentise (is that a word?) a number of web sites with an element that runs off one script. Update the script, and every site gets the latest version of the component. Cool huh? If anyone's interested in this (unlikley, I know...), I can give some more detail/examples...
I've got it working as a desktop application (you can xmlHttp to any site from the desktop), but need the proxy to allow it on web sites.
Cheers,
Steve
Re: Problems With AJAX?
12-09-2007 5:16 PM
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Report to Moderator
You just have to make sure you've got your MySQL and CCGI account set up correctly, that you're using the correct connection details for each, and file permissions are correct for each.
At first that might seem a bit daunting, but once set up you get used to it.
Try http://ccgi.pberry.plus.com/ajax/ajax_test.html
Re: Problems With AJAX?
12-09-2007 5:58 PM
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Report to Moderator
Quote from: hogsmill ... if I can get this to work, it opens up a fantastic new architecture where you can populate bits of web sites by making URL calls to various web sites for the info. Thus, you can componentise (is that a word?) a number of web sites with an element that runs off one script. Update the script, and every site gets the latest version of the component. Cool huh? If anyone's interested in this (unlikley, I know...), I can give some more detail/examples...
There is an application within the site I build where this type of function might be very useful. My grasp of php/mysql is fairly rudimentary (I've just learned the absolute basics to enable doing what has been essential) but the terminology of php/mysql "help sites" and tutorials is largely beyond me.
When you've figured all this out and got it working, I'd be interested in seeing the (full) coding as it might enable me to track back and isolate individual elements of the process that might be usable within what I'm putting together currently.
If that's okay

Regards.
Penny.
https://www.happychild.org.uk - FREE stuff for kids including huge Pokémon area and 50 Harry Potter wordsearch puzzles *
20,000 free worksheets (maths, languages, reading, spelling), accelerated learning + lots more * projects helping kids worldwide
Re: Problems With AJAX?
20-09-2007 9:35 AM
- Mark as New
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Highlight
- Report to Moderator
Yes, got it all working fine, and be glad to show you the steps.
However, it still doesn't work cross-domain (i.e. making an AJAX call from hogsmill.com to (say) misterdoo,.com), due to browser security (nothing to do wth Plus Net, or any other ISP!), which is my holy grail. I'm still investigating how to do this, and I'l post soemthing when I've found a solution that is a) secure and b) sensible
I'd be interested to hear what your application is - it may not need AJAX, and I can certainly give some pointers to some other methods...
Cheers
Steve
http://hogsmill.com
- Subscribe to RSS Feed
- Mark Topic as New
- Mark Topic as Read
- Float this Topic for Current User
- Bookmark
- Subscribe
- Printer Friendly Page