cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Protect (McAfee Anti Virus)

adrian_k
Newbie
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎11-04-2016

Plusnet Protect (McAfee Anti Virus)

Just reinstalled Windows7 and tried to re-install McAfee but I'm receiving an error message about mcmscins.dll not being designed to run on Windows.

I've tried the McAfee software removal tool (MCPR.exe ) but that wasn't successful either.

 

any clues on how to fix this?

thanks

Adrian

7 REPLIES
Pete11
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 859
Thanks: 251
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎17-02-2017

Re: Plusnet Protect (McAfee Anti Virus)

Try here...the download is on the right hand side at the top.

http://www.dll4free.com/mcmscins.dll.html

 

Or re-install Mcafee 2012

A float tip is pleasing in its appearance and even more pleasing in its disappearance.
Growing old is inevitable...But growing up is optional.
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,533
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Plusnet Protect (McAfee Anti Virus)

There is another option ,, Use another free AV you dont have  to use McAfee Thumbs Up

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
adrian_k
Newbie
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎11-04-2016

Re: Plusnet Protect (McAfee Anti Virus)

Pete,

Thanks for the link but it didn't work.  I put the dll in the system folder as it suggested and also tried the temporary installation folder of McAfee but still got the same message,

 

Adrian

Pete11
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 859
Thanks: 251
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎17-02-2017

Re: Plusnet Protect (McAfee Anti Virus)

Then I suggest you take up rongtw's advice and install a different AV. Something like Avast or AVG.

A float tip is pleasing in its appearance and even more pleasing in its disappearance.
Growing old is inevitable...But growing up is optional.
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,299
Thanks: 790
Fixes: 47
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Plusnet Protect (McAfee Anti Virus)

Looking at the screenshot in the op it looks like a bad download of McAfee so I suggest re-downloading and trying again.
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
adrian_k
Newbie
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎11-04-2016

Re: Plusnet Protect (McAfee Anti Virus)

hi All,

It's fixed & I think I know why.  I reinstalled Windows7 and the existing system was archived to a directory called Windows.Old.

While housekeeping and finishing the installation, I deleted the the old install and \program files\ and also re-downloaded (again) the installer.

Seems that through a combination of the above it cleared the issue and MCAfee installed without a problem,

 

cheers,

Adrian

Pete11
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 859
Thanks: 251
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎17-02-2017

Re: Plusnet Protect (McAfee Anti Virus)

Glad to know it's all sorted. Thumbs Up

A float tip is pleasing in its appearance and even more pleasing in its disappearance.
Growing old is inevitable...But growing up is optional.