cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PlusNet and SSL - again!

RayS
Dabbler

PlusNet and SSL - again!

I know this had been batted around for some time, but the last response from a PlusNet staffer to the question seems to be aound December last year (from a search of the forum).
So here goes, are PlusNet planning to introduce SSL or shared certification to customers who may want to run a secure service in compliance of the PCI standard?
If so when at what charge?
Ray
16 REPLIES 16
Ben_Brown
Grafter

Re: PlusNet and SSL - again!

Due to the nature of SSL on a shared platform it's highly unlikely that we will ever offer this. I'm also not sure that any shared platform would be PCI compliant, but then I'm not an expert in PCI (though I do have some experience with it).
The easiest way to provide the sort of services that need PCI (purchases etc) is to not process payments yourself, use a third party like google checkout or paypal, then they need to worry about PCI, not you.
RayS
Dabbler

Hi Ben
Thanks for the reply.
I am planning to use the services of PayPal for the payment transaction process but I wanted a more secure area for the customer account details. I do use all the recomended security advice such as, changing the name od the admin location, rapidly changing strong passwords, inclusion of .htaccess files and altering the permissions, etc........., but the use of SSL would be the level I would feel comfortable with in protecting myself and others.
If it is possible for other hosting companies to provide the service why not PN?
Surely PN are not saying to customers we can't provide this so you should move to anothe ISP?
I'm only setting this up for a community/charity based affair so it is not so imperative as a business, small or otherwise, but I wonder if PN are not missing out here.
Maybe the business strategy guys need to look at it with the technical guys and see if they can offer a service that others are currently providing.