cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please can we get updated PHP?

Adam1V
Grafter

Please can we get updated PHP?

I know its been asked before, but Plusnet are running such a low version of PHP, its barely worth having.
None of the applications we're looking at can run on such an old system.
Im looking for a modern/presentable Open Source commerce platform. OS Commerce just looks too old, there isnt many other applications available Sad
10 REPLIES 10
Chris
Legend
Fixes: 169

Re: Please can we get updated PHP?

Hi Adam,
It's something we are looking at and making some progress on. Have a look at the blog here for more details.
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
Adam1V
Grafter

That does sound like good news Chris.
So to get this straight in my head (im not tech savvy), Data will be physically moved from plusnet servers to Plesk servers, the DNS names will be changed to point to the Plesk servers.
So hopefully the outcome will be my User Forum which uses SQL at the backend will still talk to the front end CGI without me having to make any modifications? (providing ccgi.username.force9.co.uk is found on the plesk servers?
oldgustav
Grafter

Hi Adam,
I just came across your post after posting something broadly similar here: http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,69283.msg566700.html#msg566700. Perhaps we are having similar problems.
Ianwild
Grafter

To be clear Adam, you'll need to move your site at some point yourself - There are simply too many differences between the old system and the new one for us to do it automatically.
If you follow the instructions there, you can set that up and take advantage of the newer version of php now.
Ian
Gabe
Grafter

Hmm. The version of PHP on PAYH is newer, but (IMHO) it's not set up securely enough for commerce just yet. I think it's a hobbyists-only zone at the moment.