cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Perl Script not Working Since Migration

tinmanbf

Perl Script not Working Since Migration

Hi,
I've been running a Perl script for probably about 5 years but since migration to the new platform it doesn't work.
When you goto the scripts location it just displays the script itself.
Is the perl location still /usr/bin/perl ?Huh
Regards,
Ben
19 REPLIES 19
Gabe
Grafter

Re: Perl Script not Working Since Migration

You may need either to add
AddHandler cgi-script .cgi .pl

to your .htaccess, or move the script to the cgi-bin directory. It'll still need 700 permissions.
Gabe
tinmanbf

Hi Gabe,
When I go into filemanager I can't find the .htaccess file anywhere?
I've tried putting it into the CGI-BIN directory but still no luck...
tinmanbf

No worries, managed to find the .htaccess file by going in to the ftp site using Filezilla, removed the ##RewriteRule ^cgi-bin(/.*|)$ CGI-BIN$1 [L,NC]## so the files were being picked up in the real cgi-bin directory then chmod them to 777, this enabled the script to run..
Thanks,
Ben
spraxyt
Resting Legend
Fixes: 75

There's no need for the scripts in /cgi-bin to be chmod 777, they should run with chmod 700.
As long as there are no non-cgi script files (eg .php) in /public/cgi-bin moving its contents to the root /cgi-bin and disabling the root /.htaccess should be OK for most users.
David
David
andydg
Grafter

I have just been migrated and trying to work through few small issues - I can't seem to get my perl scripts to run.
I think I may have deleted a CGI-BIN folder as when I first logged on (oops) - there appeared to be two ...  I still have a folder in the root 'cgi-bin' and one under public but I get a file permission error when trying to write anything to the one under public.
I also get a permission error when I try and do anything to the .htaccess in the root ...
Any help appreciated ...
spraxyt
Resting Legend