cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Paying for domain, can't work out how to manage it

siouxsie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎22-06-2013

Paying for domain, can't work out how to manage it

I got one of the £1/month .co.uk domains with the intention of using it to just show a Google apps spreadsheet (for organizing players to play video games) - the page already exists I just wanted it to be easier to find so I got a domain from Plusnet . I have no idea what to do now, I tried logging in on the FTP but got this every time. It seems a simple thing to do but I don't know where to start, am I missing something obvious?
10 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,925
Thanks: 1,265
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Paying for domain, can't work out how to manage it

Which FTP program are you using? It looks like it is trying to connect using a secure protocol (though the port is the standard FTP one)
Using FileZilla I get the following dialogue.
Status: Resolving address of homepages.force9.net   <<<< force9 in my case because I'm a force9 customer
Status: Connecting to 212.159.8.90:21...
Status: Connection established, waiting for welcome message...
Response: 220-PLEASE NOTE: If you have a non-subscription account you
Response: 220-will only be able to login to this ftp server if you are
Response: 220-dialled into our network.
Response: 220-
Response: 220-A Maximum of 4 concurrent connections are allowed to this
Response: 220-server, each session is limited to 256KB/s downloads.
Response: 220-
Response: 220 Force9 FTP Server #1 ready
Command: USER xxxxxxxx  <<<< xxxxxxxx is my username
Response: 331 Password required for xxxxxxxx
Command: PASS ********
Response: 230 User xxxxxxxx logged in
(various capability commands)
Status: Connected
(... and the session continues).
Once logged in you upload your website HTML files to the /htdocs folder. They should then be viewable in your favourite browser at www.<your username>.plus.com/index.htm or www.yourdomain.co.uk assuming DNS points it to homepages.
David
siouxsie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎22-06-2013

Re: Paying for domain, can't work out how to manage it

It's FileZilla that I'm using. Looks to me I'm not getting my password right, is the login the same as I use to log in on the Plusnet website?
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,925
Thanks: 1,265
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Paying for domain, can't work out how to manage it

Yes, username and password are those used to login to the Member Centre.
David
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2012

Re: Paying for domain, can't work out how to manage it

Quote from: siouxsie
It's FileZilla that I'm using. Looks to me I'm not getting my password right, is the login the same as I use to log in on the Plusnet website?

No, the FTP server is showing that it can't establish a secure connection using TLS or SSL.  It's not getting as far as logging on with your username or password.
Solution - Set Encryption to 'Use plain FTP'
siouxsie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎22-06-2013

Re: Paying for domain, can't work out how to manage it

Gives me incorrect login error still, checked and rechecked my username/pass and it's the same as I log in on, it's like this http://i.imgur.com/synRk3Q.png
I got the domain very recently, and besides my home broadband connection it's all I've paid for, does it maybe take some time before I can get on or is there more I need to buy?
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2012

Re: Paying for domain, can't work out how to manage it

What account type do you have?  Recent products don't have any web space so no need for ftp access. 
Could this be the reason?
ckcomputing
Rising Star
Posts: 170
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎28-11-2009

Re: Paying for domain, can't work out how to manage it

Hi Siouxsie,
If you get an error 530 this means that your login data isn't accepted by the server. Double check your login details and/or as pwatson said check you have web space. Wink
Professionals are predictable - it's the amateurs that are dangerous!
siouxsie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎22-06-2013

Re: Paying for domain, can't work out how to manage it

I don't know how to check if I've got webspace but I'm guessing not. I just want to make the domain so it shows a web page that's already hosted, what else do I need to do this?
VileReynard
All Star
Posts: 11,186
Thanks: 305
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Paying for domain, can't work out how to manage it

You need to own a domain name and have some web space (hosting) to make use of it.
You could have gone to a third party and bought a combined package.
I don't know why Plusnet still sell domains if they no longer offer web space.

waynepyrah
Grafter
Posts: 57
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Paying for domain, can't work out how to manage it

Im sure if you raise a ticket and ask PN to redirect your domain to the google apps page they will do