Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PHPMyAdmin/MySQL Administration Help

Portsmouth
Dabbler

PHPMyAdmin/MySQL Administration Help

Hi
As I am a complete novice with PHP and MySQL can any one help or at least point me in the right direction regarding inserting a record/user into a MySQL Database. If there are instructions on how to do this what link would I need to follow?
I have just found out that when the Database and PHP files are uploaded the Database is only the shell and will not contain any data.
After going into PHPMyAdmin I see the Database shell which clearly states No records. I quess I will need to use the Insert Tab. However within this there appears to be two Databases, the second one appears to be repeat of the first one except that above there is a checkbox entitled ignore which is ticked. Do I enter my records in the first or second one?
Many thanks in anticipation.
Barry
9 REPLIES 9
Peter_Vaughan
Grafter

Re: PHPMyAdmin/MySQL Administration Help

First I need to understand what you are doing. I'm guessing the php files are not what you have created but something you have downloaded and want to use on your webspace If so what is the package called?
Once I know that we go to the next step.
Note: Most of the packages you can download have installation instructions so read then in full. Many have a php install page which you run which will create the necessary tables and populate the database if necessary so just follow the set-up/install instructions.
Portsmouth
Dabbler

Hi Peter
The package is EasyGen which has an export routine to upload into MySQL space.
I have been told though that it only uploads a DB shell, without data. Through MySQL Admin I have created two records. When I previed the project locally (localhost) everything worked fine. Now, live it will not accept my Password and Username which it should get from the records i created in the Db.
Many Thanks
Barry
Peter_Vaughan
Grafter