cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PHP & Webhosting

serpens

PHP & Webhosting

Hi  I am asking for help in trying to understand how I can host my current plusnet website with the plusnet server, I have various php scripts on my site which when uploaded to my normal htdocs folder do not work. I am no web programmer and as such I use WYSIWYG Webbuilder 6 to build my website. some of the pages have html extensions and some have php extensions to allow the scripts to run. Can someone help me in where I need to upload my files to allow them to work, on the plusnet servers. I have had to switch to a free webhosting company to get my website to run correctly. This allows me to just upload my website complete to the server and everything works fine. As I do not have to load some elements to a cgi folder and some to a htdocs folder.
Thanks in advance.
Rich.
3 REPLIES 3
decomplexity
Rising Star

Re: PHP & Webhosting

If you are an existing PN customer still entitled to use PN's CGI service, you do unfortunately have either:
- to split the pages into 'htm/html' and 'php' pages and load them into home pages and CCGI webspace respectively
or
- to load the entire site into your CGI webspace and raise a ticket to get your domain name pointed to CCGI (from the 'htdocs' home pages server)
Otherwise, you need to take out a chargeable (£4.59 pm per domain) PAYH subscription and load the entire site there
PN's offer to allow customers to try a restricted verson of PAYH (mainly for PHP pages) alongside home pages webspace is not now available.
Note finally that the future of the present CGI service is under review and it may be discontinued in favour of PAYH
Zen from May 17. PN Business account from 2004 - 2017
serpens

I have uploaded my site to the cgi area, but the following was sent from plusnet when I requested a redirect to my new cgi site?Huh
Dear Mr Wright,