cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No website

editpoint
Grafter
Posts: 32
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

No website

My website disappeared a few days ago. Still waiting for Plusnet business support to find the problem.
It can't be that difficult. Its a PHP site.
I get to the a page if i type in www.site.co.uk/file.html but not if i type in www.site.co.uk or www.site.co.uk/index.php.
Surely this looks like php not working and should be easy to fix.
Perhaps someone can give me hope.
B
8 REPLIES 8
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,047
Thanks: 2,699
Fixes: 171
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: No website

Looks like it's being blocked by a server-side firewall:
~$ curl www.[REDACTED].co.uk
<html><head><title>Request Rejected</title></head><body>The requested URL was rejected. If you think this is an error, please contact the webmaster. <br><br>Your support ID is: 553460747172982783</body></html>

I'll raise a ticket with our hosting suppliers.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

editpoint
Grafter
Posts: 32
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: No website

Thanks Bob.
I did raise a ticket with Plusnet support but nothing much has been done as far as I can see.
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,047
Thanks: 2,699
Fixes: 171
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: No website

Think I might have been a bit quick of the mark with my assumption. I wasn't using the right switches with that cURL command. If I identify the user agent it hangs like it does in a browser:
~$ curl -H "User-Agent: Firefox/40.0" -H "Accept: */*" www.[REDACTED].co.uk

Trying that with another CGI-hosted website, I get the expected result:
~$ curl -H "User-Agent: Firefox/40.0" -H "Accept: */*" [REDACTED].net
<html>
<head>
<title>Yay!</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>
<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" text="#000000">
<div align="center">
  <p>&nbsp;</p>
  <p>&nbsp;</p>
  <p>&nbsp;</p>
  <p><img src="win.gif">
  </p>
</div>
--8<--snip--8<--

We'll see what our suppliers make of it...

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

editpoint
Grafter
Posts: 32
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: No website

The  hoster said its nothing to do with them and it must be my CMS
However the same CMS is working for me on other website . I downloaded the whole site and it works ok locally..
If a simple file like phpinfo.php doesn't work then surely it's not my CMS
spraxyt
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,063
Thanks: 1,370
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: No website

Access to phpinfo is blocked by security policy.
Does your site use PHP sessions? I suspect there might be problems with these.
David
David
editpoint
Grafter
Posts: 32
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: No website

Don't know if site uses php sessions.
How do I tell?
spraxyt
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,063
Thanks: 1,370
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: No website

If sessions are used you'll find a call to session_start(); near the top of most of the PHP files. Sessions are used to pass state information between pages, for example visitor preferences and identities and that they have logged in.
David
David
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,047
Thanks: 2,699
Fixes: 171
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: No website

The site seems to be working for me this morning. Are you still having problems?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵