cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New (old) gateways or usertools which Gateway broken?

FIXED
Highlighted
RichardB
Pro
Posts: 420
Thanks: 131
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

New (old) gateways or usertools which Gateway broken?

Hi

I have a static IP and using the usertools gateway checker it reported:

      Which Gateway

      You are currently connected to gateway ptn-ag04.

      This is located in Telehouse North.

 

A Traceroute reported the PN gatway as:

      gi12-0-1-451.ptn-ag04.plus.net (84.93.253.80)  69.439 ms  69.422 ms  69.409 ms

 

AFAIK all the Telehouse gateways were decompression a few years ago...

Are new (maybe old) gateways being added or is the usertools which Gateway broken?

 

Regards

Richard

 

 

 

6 REPLIES
Baldrick1
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,005
Thanks: 848
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: New (old) gateways or usertools which Gateway broken?

I thought that the old gateways were still being used on static IP addresses. I assumed that this is the reason that the Plusnet profile still controls static addresses.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 621
Thanks: 147
Fixes: 31
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: New (old) gateways or usertools which Gateway broken?

Hey @RichardB


Looks like @Baldrick1 is on the right direction regarding this. 

 

Honestly, I couldn't give you a 100% guaranteed answer off the top of my head - but I'll have an ask about the office and see if anyone knows more about this.

 

Maybe one of the lovely people on here knows the answer? if so, please do shout up. 

 

Thanks,

MoR

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Alisdair C
 Plusnet Help Team
RichardB
Pro
Posts: 420
Thanks: 131
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: New (old) gateways or usertools which Gateway broken?

I had a static IP before the old "ag" gateways were decommissioned and have not seen an old "ag" gateway for the last few years only "bng" gateways.
@bobpullen advised that the ag gateways were being decommissioned in the IPV6 subboard. Link below...
https://community.plus.net/t5/IPv6-Trial/PSA-AG-Gateway-decommissioning/td-p/1384277

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,926
Thanks: 1,265
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: New (old) gateways or usertools which Gateway broken?

Fix

All the old "ag" gateways were retired some years ago with "bng" gateways (on different IPs) taking over. It looks like some of the redundant IPs are now being re-used as additional "bngs". These gateway routers only need an IP address to carry out their function, it matters not what their names (reverse DNS entries) are.

Changing rDNS to match is never going to be a priority task but until they do we (and the gateway checker) have no means to provide correct names for these new devices.

For information, since what was called the "new network" was introduced users with dynamic IPs go directly to the Internet using either Access Routers and/or Internet Routers. It is only users with static IPs who go through the BNGs. This is necessary to ensure their static IPs are correctly assigned.

David
Baldrick1
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,005
Thanks: 848
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: New (old) gateways or usertools which Gateway broken?


@RichardB wrote:

Hi

I have a static IP and using the usertools gateway checker it reported:

      Which Gateway

      You are currently connected to gateway ptn-ag04.

      This is located in Telehouse North.

 Me too.


 

RichardB
Pro
Posts: 420
Thanks: 131
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: New (old) gateways or usertools which Gateway broken?

Thank you David

A new gateway it is then.

Hopefully PN will eventually correct the rDNS out but I fully accept it will not be a priority task :-)

Richard