cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New laptop - is my anti-virus software automatically loaded?

FIXED
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎12-02-2019

New laptop - is my anti-virus software automatically loaded?

I have anti-virus software as part of my broadband package.  But I recently bought a new laptop that came with a free month of McAfee.  That has now run out but I can't find anything else from PN.  So how do I find out and how can I load it from PN if it's not there?

17 REPLIES 17
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,234
Thanks: 4,284
Fixes: 1,099
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: New laptop - is my anti-virus software automatically loaded?

You should find it here under add-ons https://www.plus.net/AddOns.html

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎12-02-2019

Re: New laptop - is my anti-virus software automatically loaded?

It's not an add-on that I pay extra for.  It's the anti-virus that comes with my fibre broadband.  It's part of the package.

Highlighted
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 1,248
Thanks: 404
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎22-10-2015

Re: New laptop - is my anti-virus software automatically loaded?

A fully featured security package, including all you need to stay safe online.

  • Anti-Virus and Anti-Spyware - email, chat and browse without worry
  • Firewall defends your PC from hackers and viruses
  • Identity theft protection and Anti-Phishing
  • McAfee SiteAdvisor? shows you website safety ratings
  • Protect up to 7 PCs

 

Free!

As it says, its free................you just add it.

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Full quote of preceding post removed as per Forum rules.
Ever helpful. Grin Sure, I’d love to help you out. Now which way did you come in?
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎12-02-2019

Re: New laptop - is my anti-virus software automatically loaded?

On the link you posted, it said it's 3 months free and then it has to be paid for.  

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 20,368
Thanks: 3,793
Fixes: 417
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: New laptop - is my anti-virus software automatically loaded?

@mirandashell 

If you click on Add-ons once logged in you get a page showing Plusnet Protect is free.

 

I just added and it showed a fee of £0.00 before I removed it.

 

Edit: The link suppled by @dvorak does, indeed, go to the same page for me.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎12-02-2019

Re: New laptop - is my anti-virus software automatically loaded?

Thanks for your reply but that's not what I'm getting.  I just signed in and went straight to add-ons.  Ths is what I got

 

https://www.plus.net/AddOns.html

 

Are you sure that you aren't getting a different page cos you're a mod?

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,234
Thanks: 4,284
Fixes: 1,099
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: New laptop - is my anti-virus software automatically loaded?

Moderators here at the community are just customers like yourself and have the same accounts as other customers.
Our experience on the PN account portal is the same as yours.

Which broadband package are you on?
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,234
Thanks: 4,284
Fixes: 1,099
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: New laptop - is my anti-virus software automatically loaded?


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Tech Help to Everything Else as it could be package / account related now.

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 20,368
Thanks: 3,793
Fixes: 417
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: New laptop - is my anti-virus software automatically loaded?

@mirandashell 

The following is what I get after clicking on Add-ons:

Capture.JPG

Are you able to save a screenshot of what you are getting and post here?

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,069
Thanks: 959
Fixes: 391
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: New laptop - is my anti-virus software automatically loaded?

Thanks for getting in touch @mirandshell

I can see you've spoken with our support team this afternoon who have resolved this for you

Let us know if there's anything else we can help with

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 20
Registered: ‎12-10-2007

Re: New laptop - is my anti-virus software automatically loaded?

Are you on Unlimited Fibre?

 

From the T's and C's...

It depends which broadband package you've got. It's free for Unlimited and Unlimited Fibre Extra customers. And it's £2 a month if you've got Unlimited Fibre.

To check how much it is for older broadband products, like Plusnet Value and Broadband Your Way take a look at our broadband product archive.

Kevin.
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 20,368
Thanks: 3,793
Fixes: 417
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: New laptop - is my anti-virus software automatically loaded?

@MatthewWheeler 

I was just checking the support pages for Plusnet Protect and under 'How much does it cost?' there seems to be some conflicting information;

Capture.png

Indicates free for Unlimited Fibre then £2 pm for Unlimited Fibre.

 

Edit: @Kevin Got there before me

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 195
Thanks: 20
Registered: ‎12-10-2007

Re: New laptop - is my anti-virus software automatically loaded?

@Mav I assumed that meant free for the ordinary ADSL Unlimited broadband or Unlimited Fibre Extra.

But £2 per month if you just had Unlimited Fibre.

Kevin.
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 20,368
Thanks: 3,793
Fixes: 417
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: New laptop - is my anti-virus software automatically loaded?

@Kevin 

I think it could be made clearer, though.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still