cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moving the hosting for my "free" Plusnet domain

Oldjim
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,035
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Moving the hosting for my "free" Plusnet domain

As part of the email leak debacle I received a free domain.
Now I want to start using it a bit more seriously and the data transfer limit is a real problem.
Just went to look at my 1&1 account and found that there are no data transfer limits and I can host a few more domains for nothing.
The storage limit isn't a problem so I wonder if it is possible to keep the domain registered with Plusnet as it's free and host it on 1&1.
If it is possible is there an idiots guide on how to do it
10 REPLIES 10
mal0z
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,486
Registered: ‎02-10-2008

Re: Moving the hosting for my "free" Plusnet domain

I wonder if unlimited applies to existing accounts ?
Oldjim
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,035
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Moving the hosting for my "free" Plusnet domain

yes it does - my account shows it
mal0z
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,486
Registered: ‎02-10-2008

Re: Moving the hosting for my "free" Plusnet domain

Oh yes - so does mine  Smiley Smiley
I wouldn't have known - no emails etc etc  Sad
Oldjim
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,035
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Moving the hosting for my "free" Plusnet domain

I only found it because I have just created a website with lots of photos which would have killed my Plusnet usage allowance so I checked to see what the monthly allowance was on my 1and1 account as I couldn't remember
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Moving the hosting for my "free" Plusnet domain

I don't believe registration without hosting is an option (free or paid for).
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Posts: 4,154
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎15-04-2007

Re: Moving the hosting for my "free" Plusnet domain

Oldjim, you will need to move your Free domain to 123-Reg or such like, PlusNet does not do what you want to do!
[Edit]
It looks like 1&1, do domain hosting from £2.49 first year then £2.99 per year.
123-Reg  domain hosting from £2.99 per year.
Hope this helps.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Moving the hosting for my "free" Plusnet domain

We could probably move it to JTN for you Jim - then you can just amend the name servers.
Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Posts: 4,154
Thanks: 9
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎15-04-2007

Re: Moving the hosting for my "free" Plusnet domain

Just The Name is from £9.79 2 Years.   Sad
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Moving the hosting for my "free" Plusnet domain

Yes, I'm aware of that Gary.  Thank you for telling me how much our products cost Smiley
There might be a workaround though.
Oldjim
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,035
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Moving the hosting for my "free" Plusnet domain

James,
Thanks for the reply,
What I think I will do is start the website on Plusnet and when it gets to the point where the traffic is potentially a problem I will then look into it further. Of course it may generate very little traffic in which case it can stay where it is  Embarrassed