cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moving site to ccgi area

allied
Dabbler

Moving site to ccgi area

Hi  novice here and sorry to be asking what has been asked before but having developed a new site in the ccgi area which is working and accessible via ccgi.allied.plus.com  we now need to it be found as www.allied-images.com .  So I've gone to our dns record area in plusnet and set the details as follows;
allied-images.com.  a    91.136.8.9 
www  cname    ccgi.allied.plus.com.
Remembering the '.'  That was 24hrs ago and I cannot still access the site on www.allied-images.com .  I was not sure in PlusNet whether I also need to untick 'I wish to have this domain hosted automatically under my webspace'  and tick the 'Other' option ' I wish to specify DNS records for hosts under this domain'
Do I need to change my .htaccess  file.
Any help would be appreciated.
8 REPLIES 8
spraxyt
Resting Legend
Fixes: 75

Re: Moving site to ccgi area

Welcome to the Community forums. Smiley
The DNS entries you made seem to have propagated OK so your domain URL should go to the Plusnet hosting cgi server. However once we get there has the server been configured to host the domain?
If you login to the hosting control panel (https://hosting.plus.net/portal/), then click Manage Websites, does the Currently Managing drop-down selection list include www.allied-images.com?
If it doesn't you will have to raise a ticket (the Help Assistant should allow that) to get it added.
If that is already configured - it looks like you current ccgi site is Joomla driven. Has that added a .htaccess file in your web root (/public) directory?
David
David
allied
Dabbler

David thank you for your help
I've checked the Currently Managing area and it shows ccgi.allied.plus.com it doesn't show www.allied-images.com so does this suggest it could be the problem?  if so i'll raise a ticket as suggested.
Steve
spraxyt
Resting Legend