cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

McAfee not loading

melsajs
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎29-11-2018

McAfee not loading

Have been unsuccessful in downloading the Virus software - it gets to about 70% installed then fails at 'Dynamic DNS' or 'Securitycenter'  I've used the McAfee help pages.  Anybody else had this problem?  

15 REPLIES 15
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,736
Thanks: 4,565
Fixes: 757
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: McAfee not loading

That's odd, could you confirm the version of Windows you're using?

And, are you able to try a different Windows PC?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
melsajs
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎29-11-2018

Re: McAfee not loading

Windows 10 home - version 1803.

Just before I changed providers to you I had a hard drive failure. Previously with BT and had there protection but given the impending change didn't load McAfee from them - just using Windows Defender.

 

melsajs
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎29-11-2018

Re: McAfee not loading

Sorry, forgot to add - Widows was reloaded onto the new drive using recovery stick

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,257
Thanks: 757
Fixes: 290
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: McAfee not loading

Sorry to hear this.

Do you get a particular error code at all?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
melsajs
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎29-11-2018

Re: McAfee not loading

no - just states 'McAfee software cannot be installed. The following components failed to install - McAfee Analytics SDK' - this at about 73% download.

Have run McAfee pre check software plus virus removal tool and both reported no problems

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,736
Thanks: 4,565
Fixes: 757
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: McAfee not loading

Thanks for the error message.

Are you able to try a different computer?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
melsajs
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎29-11-2018

Re: McAfee not loading

Sorry - no.  Only other device is n ipad

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,736
Thanks: 4,565
Fixes: 757
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: McAfee not loading

What happens when you turn Windows Defender off, then try installing Plusnet Protect again?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
melsajs
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎29-11-2018

Re: McAfee not loading

Am now thinking it has to be a problem with PLUSNET's link.

I downloaded successfully from the McAfee's web page the free trial version of the software. I then used this to run a virus scan just in case - none found.

I then ran Plusnet Protection, which as part of the process deletes other versions of McAfee, an the problem reoccurred.

Who do I contact about this?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,543
Thanks: 288
Fixes: 87
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: McAfee not loading

Hi @melsajs,

 

I'm sorry that you're experiencing problems with installing Plusnet Protect and for any inconvenience that this is causing you.

 

Please can you follow the instructions here to fully remove any previous versions of McAfee/Plusnet Protect and then try installing it again? Please let us know if the installation fails after this.

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Emily D
 Plusnet Help Team
melsajs
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎29-11-2018

Re: McAfee not loading

Did as instructed - problem not resolved.  Its gets to 83% - then comes up with the message ' Component failed to install - SecurityCenter'  

Any other suggestions

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,237
Thanks: 194
Fixes: 60
Registered: ‎09-10-2018

Re: McAfee not loading

Hi @melsajs, thanks for your post.

 

We've sent a ticket through to one of our specialist tech teams in relation to your issue as to be quite honest we're a little stumped with what's going on.

 

We expect an update within the next 5 working days, at which point we'll be in touch directly.

 

If you need anything else in the meantime please let us know.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Owen P
 Plusnet Help Team
melsajs
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎29-11-2018

Re: McAfee not loading

pretty poor show - your specialist team just sent me a email listing what you have already asked me to do -then stated as its a free bolt on with my subscription. The email goes on to state that as a service included as a free extra then if this doesn't download then they don't want to know and suggest i use one of the free to download antivirus systems.  

What about consumer law and providing what you advertise!!! -

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 623
Thanks: 114
Fixes: 31
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: McAfee not loading

Hi @melsajs,

I sincerely apologise for the suggestion this team provided.

Could you please ensure Windows is fully up to date then retry the installation. You can do this by clicking the Windows icon and typing 'Update' then clicking check for updates.

Prior to reinstalling, please ensure you have gone through McAfee removal process here.

Let us know how you get on.

Thank you.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Lewis G
 Infrastructure Operations Professional