Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MX Settings - help please

Dan1502

MX Settings - help please

Hi
I'm new to Plusnet Business.
First the background.  Our .com and .co.uk domains and email were provided by register.com in the US.
Having moved into offices and as we're using Plusnet for telephone and broadband I thought it would make sense and be cheaper to move everything to Plusnet.
So I followed the instructions for transferring the domains with full control to Plusnet.
There have been shome hiccups but I think .co.uk has now transferred as a whois lookup suggests so and shows the renewal date to have increased by two years (both domain registrations having been due to expire today/tomorrow).
The .com domain seems to have gone through too but that is less urgent/of an issue as we don't use it for anything, just forward traffic to it to .co.uk.
Our website is hosted by a third party.  The DNS record has successfully been added with the Plusnet domain managment interface.
However I am having email problems.  I set up mailboxes with plusnet which all say domainname.plus.net but was told this is ok.
We have been getting all emails except if I sent emails from my personal email (also with register.com) it would not get through or bounce back.
So as Plusnet are slow getting back I had a look at my Register.com account today and found various setttings still set for .co.uk and also our email accounts with them still active but I couldn't access their webmail so I decided to delete everything.
I then tried sending an email from my personal address to the work .co.uk again and this time I received a failure notice saying the mailbox doesn't exist.
I used the tool on mxtoolbox.com to see what was showing for .co and .co.uk and found mx.avasin.plus.net in respect of .com and I forget in respect of .co.uk