cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

grumpybob
Grafter
Posts: 62
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-11-2007

'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

Further to my post of a few hours ago (c.f. 'ftp via plusnet connection only?', I am now at home and STILL having no luck connecting to (let alone uploading to) ftp.plus.net.
- I AM using my correct username*
- I AM using the correct password*
* I know this because the instructions state I should use the same credentials I use to access webmail. I am and I can access webmail fine.
I'm using 'LeapFTP' as my ftp client but I've allso tried dosFTP just to be sure. They both end up saying the same thing ('Login incorrect - connection attempt failed')
Any ideas, please?
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: 'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

try ftp2.plus.net
grumpybob
Grafter
Posts: 62
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-11-2007

Re: 'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

Quote from: Peter
try ftp2.plus.net

No luck with that, Peter, but thanks anyway.
I note on my 'My Account - My Webspace' page it states, 'You can upload to your webspace 12 hours after signing up.' My Plusnet account only became active yesterday but, from the way it is phrased, I would have thought that statement meant '12 hours from the date you sign up' (i.e. therefore, in my case, several weeks ago!)
Why is nothing ever easy?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,267
Thanks: 573
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: 'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

It might be that the scripts which set up ftp space etc haven't run yet.  One of the comms guys will likely clarify for you tomorrow.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: 'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

I've given things a kick, can you give it 4 hours and try again later please.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Adam1V
Grafter
Posts: 223
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: 'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

Quote from: grumpybob

* I know this because the instructions state I should use the same credentials I use to access webmail. I am and I can access webmail fine.
Any ideas, please?

That may not be necessarly true depending on your setup.
It should be just your ISP Username + that password.
I have numerous mailboxes, and people access their webmail as
Username: ISPUsername+MailboxName
Password: Mailbox Password
So in that instance what you've said there is not correct.
I assume you are actually entering your ISP username + password in and not the webmail password details if its different?
Highlighted
grumpybob
Grafter
Posts: 62
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-11-2007

Re: 'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

Quote from: Chris
I've given things a kick, can you give it 4 hours and try again later please.

All seems to be working now, thanks Chris. I didn't wait the full 4 hours before giving it a try (typical bloody user! Never do what they're told!) but, wahtever you did seems to have done the trick.
grumpybob
Grafter
Posts: 62
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-11-2007

Re: 'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

Censored! It was only a 'blood' with a 'y' on the end! Cheesy
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: 'Login Incorrect'?!!! No it isn't!!!

Thanks for letting me know, percussive maintenance tends to do the trick Wink
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff