cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

KAT

FreddieFlint
Grafter
Posts: 45
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎20-08-2015

KAT

Anyone having trouble getting to kat.cr?Huh

Have PN been told it's out of bounds???

12 REPLIES 12
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,540
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: KAT

works for me Smiley

 

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
npr
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,872
Thanks: 107
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: KAT

It's blocked from my BT connection:

Access to the websites listed on this page has been blocked pursuant to orders of the high court.

More information can be found at www.ukispcourtorders.co.uk 

If BT are blocking it, I would expect PN to also block.

ejs
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,442
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: KAT

I got the same message as npr. Getting the blocked message or not might depend on which Plusnet gateway you are on and the routing, but Plusnet route most things via BT now.

FreddieFlint
Grafter
Posts: 45
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎20-08-2015

Re: KAT

Thanks for the replies, I had a feeling it was to do with it being blocked.

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,540
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: KAT

https://kat.cr  works ok for me still , wierd if its blocked Shocked

gateway ptw-ag03.  my gateway if it makes any difference

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
FreddieFlint
Grafter
Posts: 45
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎20-08-2015

Re: KAT

I'm on gateway  psb-ar01, can (or should) I change it?

BTW, I don't know how to change it even if I should Wink

spraxyt
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,063
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: KAT


@FreddieFlint wrote:

I'm on gateway  psb-ar01, can (or should) I change it?


Changing gateways is usually attempted by disconnecting from Plusnet then reconnecting. However your gateway being the access router in the Southbank Point of Presence shows you are on the new network and unfortunately you will not be able to change this.

David
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,540
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: KAT

Spraxyt , so does plusnet new network have different block list ?Huh

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
spraxyt
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,063
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: KAT

I can only guess, but I expect the new network uses BT routing so is subject to whatever BT is legally required to block.

Parts of the old network may not use BT routing in which case different blocking rules apply.

David
npr
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,872
Thanks: 107
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: KAT

As far as I can find, this court order applies only to ISP's with over 400,000 subscribers.
I would have thought Plusnet has more than 400,000 customers so I'm surprised one of their gateways is allowing access to a banned site.  Shocked

ejs
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,442
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: KAT

I'm now on a different gateway, and I can access kat.cr. The traceroute now looks like this:

traceroute to kat.cr (192.99.147.51), 30 hops max, 52 byte packets
 1  gateway (192.168.0.1)  2.633 ms
 2  lo0.13.Central13.ptn-bng02.plus.net (195.166.130.193)  23.846 ms
 3  irb.13.ptw-cr02.plus.net (84.93.249.50)  23.227 ms
 4  *
 5  be11-1188.rbx-g2-a9.fr.eu (91.121.128.88)  27.475 ms
 6  be11-1188.rbx-g2-a9.fr.eu (91.121.128.88)  27.957 ms
 7  vac1-0-a9.fr.eu (178.33.100.151)  27.694 ms
 8  vac1-2-n7.fr.eu.tilera (91.121.215.9)  27.128 ms
 9  vac1-3-n7.fr.eu.arbor (91.121.215.13)  27.161 ms
10  vac1-3-n7.fr.eu.arbor (91.121.215.13)  27.718 ms
11  *
12  *
13  *
14  ns506632.ip-192-99-147.net (192.99.147.51)  113.155 ms

The routing traffic takes from Plusnet to any site may also change from time to time. So it may be accessible on this gateway now, but tomorrow or next week, it might not be.

In the past, the error message was much shorter, just one line of text something like "error - site blocked". Back then, I think we were told Plusnet themselves weren't doing any blocking and hadn't been ordered to. I have not been paying any attention to what's happening regarding the court blocking orders.

FreddieFlint
Grafter
Posts: 45
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎20-08-2015

Re: KAT

ah well, back to rooting through the charity shop record bin I guess Smiley