cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Joomla configuration help

mssavvy
Grafter
Posts: 34
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎28-08-2010

Joomla configuration help

Hi
I have been searching the forum all morning, but can't find any posts where there is overall help with transfering a joomla website from localhost.
I've done this twice on other hosts and never had any problems!
I've imported the database and in phpmyadmin it says it's ok.
I think the problem is with the configuration.php.  Here is some of it, it would be great if someone who has a joomla site up and running could help...  Note my site is not in a specific folder, I just ftp'd it to the htdocs folder:
var $log_path = 'http://www.mydomainname.co.uk/logs';
var $tmp_path = 'http://www.mydomainname.co.uk/tmp';
var $live_site = 'http://www.mydomainname.co.uk';
var $dbtype = 'mysql';
var $host = 'humbug';
var $user = 'myusername;
var $db = 'mydatabasename_pn';
var $dbprefix = 'jos_';
var $session_handler = 'database';
var $password = 'mydatabase password';
Do I need to put ftp details in?  I haven't get but if I have to what port etc. :::
var $ftp_enable = '0';
var $ftp_host = 'i'm assuming username@ftp.plus.net?';
var $ftp_port = '21'; Huh
var $ftp_user = 'my user name?';
var $ftp_pass = 'my password';
var $ftp_root = '';
When I try and log into the site I just get a list of folders with Index of / at the top.
It would be great if someone can help since there really aren't any posts here that actually talk you through this.  As I've said the problem is with what I need to put in for plusnet specifically. 
Many thanks in advance
6 REPLIES 6
spraxyt
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,063
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Joomla configuration help

/htdocs is on the homepages server and that server does not understand or interpret PHP.
PHP code (and associated access to MySQL) needs to be on ccgi.
David
mssavvy
Grafter
Posts: 34
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎28-08-2010

Re: Joomla configuration help

Hi
Didn't realise there were two places to put files.  Have put them all in the CGI account now but still get a server error.
Is there any way someone could check my configuration above?  I've also tried using http://ccgi.myusername.plus.com/ and this doesn't work either...
Sorry if I don't reply straight away whoever answers - I'm in and out with my son.
But really would love to have the site up by tomorrow morning... 
Many thanks in advance
mssavvy (or rather notsosavvy!)
mssavvy
Grafter
Posts: 34
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎28-08-2010

Re: Joomla configuration help

Oh ps - I'm assuming I put the joomla files in the root of the cshell.plus.net folder?  I've also tried the /website folder and this didn't work.
spraxyt
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,063
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Joomla configuration help

Have you set permissions on all files and directories correctly? See Section 6 of the CGI upgrade FAQ.
David
mssavvy
Grafter
Posts: 34
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎28-08-2010

Re: Joomla configuration help

Hi
Have looked at file permissions and folders are 750 (your max), and files 640 but I really don't think this is the problem.  What I need to know is:
1. Are my configuration settings in the configuration.php file correct (as outlined above but with http://ccgi.myusername.plus.com/ instead of http://mydomain.co.uk.
2. If I go to http://mydomain.co.uk it still shows a different page with now just a parent directory on it (as I've deleted the site from the ftp.plus.net), but I think that this means that the domain I've registered with Plusnet is not talking to the CGI platform - maybe it hasn't been assoiciated with it?
3. Are the settings in my configuration file leading to the database?  I had a database there which I deleted the tables from then imported the tables for this site - is that the problem?
4. I haven't set up an .htaccess file yet.  I have tried but am confused about what I exactly need to change from the htaccess.txt to make this work on the plusnet server.  There are various posts in the forum I've looked at but none of them give you exact instructions on what needs to be changed and what needs to be left.  Is it this that's causing the problem?  I am not interested in creating SEF urls at the moment as the site i'm putting up isn't mine it's one I've put together for a friend and am just putting it up for a couple of weeks so they can see it before taking it down (and then putting my own site up).
Should I contact help directly?
Many thanks
tonycollinet
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎14-08-2007

Re: Joomla configuration help

Your address for a cgi site is
ccgi.username.plus.com (Note the two c's in ccgi)