cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Joomla-based site give server ( 500 ) errors since earlier today

PhilC
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎15-03-2010

Joomla-based site give server ( 500 ) errors since earlier today

works fine on php5.2 / apache2 here so doubt that it's an upgrade issue. mediawiki site in same domain is fine and database is fine.
9 REPLIES 9
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,877
Thanks: 2,478
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Joomla-based site give server ( 500 ) errors since earlier today

Could it be a problem with .htaccess as per the thread here here?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

rekabuk
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎18-02-2009

Re: Joomla-based site give server ( 500 ) errors since earlier today

I get this error too. Although I can FTP to my site from home, I don't seem to be able to FTP from work, even on our "open" network!
I did try playing with the .htaccess last night with no luck., I also uploaded a simple test.php file to the root and could not access that either???!!!
Bit fed fed-up as I moved my Joomla site from the PAYH server cos of all the hassle and now I'm here, stuck again!
Andrew 😞
gandb
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-09-2009

Re: Joomla-based site give server ( 500 ) errors since earlier today

My Joomla site http://www.gtsagedev.co.uk is now up and working again.  I had to amend .htaccess to comment out 2 lines:
#Options +FollowSymLinks
#RewriteRule (.*) gtsagedev/index.php

No problems with permissions
Only problem now is with sending mail from the contacts page. The Joomla Mail settings in Global Configuration are
Mailer PHP Mail function
Mail from (my plus.com)
From Name (my name)
Sendmail Path /usr/sbin/sendmail
SMTP Authentication No
SMTP Security
SMTP Port 25
SMTP Username (blank)
SMTP Password (blank)
SMTP Host localhost
But no emails are being sent.  Will experiment and report back!
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,877
Thanks: 2,478
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Joomla-based site give server ( 500 ) errors since earlier today

Regarding the php mail () stuff, have a look at my post here.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

rekabuk
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎18-02-2009

Re: Joomla-based site give server ( 500 ) errors since earlier today

Thanks Gabe,
I'll try when I get home because although I can FTP to the PAYH and HTTP servers from work, I can't access the CCGI one 😞
Andrew
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,877
Thanks: 2,478
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Joomla-based site give server ( 500 ) errors since earlier today

You'll need to be connected to our netwok in order to access the CGI platform.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

rekabuk
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎18-02-2009

Re: Joomla-based site give server ( 500 ) errors since earlier today

Gabe,
Quote from: Gabe
#Options +FollowSymLinks
#RewriteRule (.*) gtsagedev/index.php

I couldn't find the second line you mentioned, but removing
#Options +FollowSymLinks
has fixed the problem, now I need to hack through the .htaccess again to hide the joomla install directory again, I know there is plenty of help out there but it takes me ages to get it working...
Bob
Quote from: Bob
You'll need to be connected to our netwok in order to access the CGI platform.

I didn't quite understand this comment, was it for me? Of course I'll need to be connected to your network????Huh
Andrew
Gabe
Community Veteran
Posts: 767
Registered: ‎29-10-2008

Re: Joomla-based site give server ( 500 ) errors since earlier today

Quote from: rekabuk
Gabe,

That's not me. Thanks gandb  Smiley
Quote
now I need to hack through the .htaccess again to hide the joomla install directory again, I know there is plenty of help out there but it takes me ages to get it working...

The rewrite <a href="http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,84267.16.html">here</a> might help.
Gabe
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,877
Thanks: 2,478
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Joomla-based site give server ( 500 ) errors since earlier today

Quote from: rekabuk
I didn't quite understand this comment, was it for me? Of course I'll need to be connected to your network????Huh

It was a reply to your post here. Some people don't realise that they'll not be able to FTP to the CGI servers from outside of the Plusnet network.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵