cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Internet causing a TV problem

BertieBassett
Grafter
Posts: 43
Thanks: 22
Registered: ‎05-02-2016

Internet causing a TV problem

Firstly, unsure which forum is the right one for this. Please be patient with me.

I wonder if someone can help. Two Smart TV’s, different makes in different rooms. Both have started cutting out to standby, resting for about 5 seconds, and coming back up. Only on live TV through the house aerial. This does not happen on internet Smart functions such as Catch Up or Netflix. However when I turn off my router, live TV works fine and no longer cuts out. This problem is purely driven by whether the internet is on or not. Speedtest gives a down load speed of 7.02 Mbps. I have reinstalled one of the TV’s from factory settings to no avail. As an aside, I have an ordinary non Smart TV in the bedroom – this works fine. Can someone help please, it’s driving us crazy!

10 REPLIES 10
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 872
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 37
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Internet causing a TV problem

Hi @BertieBassett,

I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing these issues with your Smart TVs. I'm afraid that, as long as the broadband service itself is up and running without fault, we can't support any 3rd party systems that are in place. Perhaps some of the other community members can help provide some help with this query, but otherwise I would recommend contacting the manufacturers of the TV's to see if this is something they may be able to support with.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Alex H
 Plusnet Help Team
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,344
Thanks: 2,416
Fixes: 305
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Internet causing a TV problem

Moderators Note
This topic has been moved from ADSL Broadband to Everything Else.

 

 

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 69.0 (64-bit)

Life is tough enough without adding Linux into the mix.
DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 459
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: Internet causing a TV problem

Okay, I'll have a crack of solving the mysterious, yet oddly bizarre, issue then.....

 

If you disconnect the TV (via the TV settings) from the router and watch live TV, do they both still drop?

 

I kinda leaning to the fact that during live (aerial) TV watching they both could be 'phoning home' for updates - I can't answer why they're both dropping though, even if the wifi signal was poor

 

Also, if you're using them with the apps, there's a good chance the TV software stops auto updates so you don't drop the app you're using.

 

Have you also tried turning off auto updates on both TV's?

BertieBassett
Grafter
Posts: 43
Thanks: 22
Registered: ‎05-02-2016

Re: Internet causing a TV problem

Thanks AJ. Yes I understand. If it was one TV causing the problem I would think it was the device itself. However, two TV's of different makes behaving in the same way suggests something a little more sinister? I understand it's not Plusnet's problem if the connection is fine - but I wondered if it was possible to download malware or a bug on to a TV? My laptop is covered by Norton but presumably nothing safeguards a Smart T.V? I would hate to junk two T.V's 'cos they had been corrupted? Just wondering......Any thoughts will be useful from you P.C. wizards out there.

 

BertieBassett
Grafter
Posts: 43
Thanks: 22
Registered: ‎05-02-2016

Re: Internet causing a TV problem

Thanks DD.  I'll have a go. They don't drop once the TV is disconnected from the router. WiFi signal is great and all the Smart features work. Just terrestrial when the routers on. Strangely strange. 

DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 459
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: Internet causing a TV problem

That's why I'm inching ever closer towards the TVs updating, or am I.....

Our main one, by default of the manufacturer, wants to check between 2-3am!! Now I'm not saying your router isn't the actual cause here, we (as in us that give vast sums to PN) need to rule our gear out as the fault.

I can't get to the other TV to check as it's in my sons bedroom

 

Now I'm using the Plusnet Hub One, and interestingly I too am witnessing some oddities around my (main) TV and my router.

For example:

02:49:11, 10 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: WiFi registration failed
02:49:11, 10 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client disassociated

03:00:11, 10 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client associated

03:34:11, 10 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: WiFi registration failed
03:34:11, 10 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client disassociated

14:02:28, 10 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client associated

17:27:20, 10 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client disassociated
17:27:20, 10 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client associated

01:19:12, 11 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: WiFi registration failed
01:19:12, 11 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client disassociated

03:00:11, 11 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client associated
03:34:12, 11 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: WiFi registration failed

03:34:12, 11 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client disassociated

03:58:07, 11 Mar. PPP LCP Send Termination Request [User request]
03:59:15, 11 Mar. System up, firmware version: 4.7.5.1.83.8.263

12:25:46, 11 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client associated

23:59:02, 12 Mar. System up, firmware version: 4.7.5.1.83.8.263

03:00:11, 12 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client disassociated
03:00:11, 12 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client associated

03:31:14, 12 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: WiFi registration failed
03:31:14, 12 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client disassociated

12:45:47, 12 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client associated

23:59:13, 12 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client associated

02:01:09, 13 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: WiFi registration failed
02:01:09, 13 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client disassociated

02:27:27, 13 Mar. PPP LCP Send Termination Request [User request]
03:00:13, 13 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client associated

03:31:09, 13 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: WiFi registration failed
03:31:09, 13 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client disassociated

12:24:04, 13 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client associated

02:31:10, 14 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: WiFi registration failed
02:31:10, 14 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client disassociated

03:00:09, 14 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client associated

03:31:10, 14 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: WiFi registration failed
03:31:10, 14 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client disassociated

12:49:51, 14 Mar. System up, firmware version: 4.7.5.1.83.8.263

12:48:50, 14 Mar. PPP LCP Send Termination Request [User request]
13:04:25, 14 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client associated

On BobP's advice, the PNH1 was factory reset

01:54:01, 15 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client associated

02:37:49, 15 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: WiFi registration failed
02:37:49, 15 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client disassociated

03:00:12, 15 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client associated

03:37:49, 15 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: WiFi registration failed
03:37:49, 15 Mar. ath00: STA 70:54:b4:<redacted> IEEE 802.11: Client disassociated

This is all for my TV!! Cry

Rule this out and it can only be that Wink

BertieBassett
Grafter
Posts: 43
Thanks: 22
Registered: ‎05-02-2016

Re: Internet causing a TV problem

Wow - that's impressive - I think....SmileyAnyway, everything seems to gone back to normal for no reason whatsoever. Both TV's are now working properly again.  Absolutely no exaggeration on my part. One minute they are behaving exactly as I described above, the next minute they are fine. What worries me a little is, if I hadn't got two televisions, different makes, different rooms, behaving in exactly the same way, I might have blamed the TV out of hand.( and ultimately scrapped it?) I wonder if this happens? As far as I can see, it's near impossible for it to have been the TV's, without input from the WiFi. Either interfering or downloading something into the "valves and tubes". Strangely strange but oddly normal. Big brother, Twilight Zone etc etc. Thanks for your help - probably be back tomorrow when it rebels again.

DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 459
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: Internet causing a TV problem

Nah, more of a pain than impressive!!

Anyway, everything seems to gone back to normal for no reason whatsoever.

Hmm, chalk it up as one of those mysteries I suppose...

What worries me a little is, if I hadn't got two televisions, different makes, different rooms, behaving in exactly the same way, I might have blamed the TV out of hand.

I'll admit it, the chances of both TVs being seeing the same issue is, well, probably, is quite remarkable - did you buy a lottery ticket as I'd of thought you'd be more likely to win on that rather than see what you saw.

Thanks for your help - probably be back tomorrow when it rebels again

No problemo, I'm sure I'll be lurkin' somewhere on here Wink

If it does this Twilight Zone do do do do thingymebob again, try one TV connected by WiFi and the other not connected. If both still turn off, unless a neighbour is messing with their remote at your window, then you might need spiritual help!!

 

Highlighted
mort7890
Rising Star
Posts: 252
Thanks: 36
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎28-06-2007

Re: Internet causing a TV problem

Just out of curiosity are you close to a 4g transmitter, I had a similar problem and eventually got a 4g filter, fitted as instructed and all has bee fine since. Just thought that maybe another avenue for you to investigate.

BertieBassett
Grafter
Posts: 43
Thanks: 22
Registered: ‎05-02-2016

Re: Internet causing a TV problem

 


@mort7890 wrote:

Just out of curiosity are you close to a 4g transmitter, I had a similar problem and eventually got a 4g filter, fitted as instructed and all has bee fine since. Just thought that maybe another avenue for you to investigate.


Unsure - I'll check. Thanks.