cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Instaling Wordpress

dnalsmar

Instaling Wordpress

I am new to this and taking advice from a video on U tube and your help files. I thought I had uploaded Wordpress using foxzilla to my plusnet webspace but when I go www.ramsland.plus.com it takes me to a plus net page and says I have nothing loaded.
I was expecting to get a create configuration file screen. Now I do not know what to do! Can any one help. On Foxzilla the files and directories look the same on my c drive as on the right hand side. I copied the Wordpress folder into the htdocs - is that correct?
Any help would be appreciated.
4 REPLIES 4
Peter_Vaughan
Grafter

Re: Instaling Wordpress

You have uploaded to your homepages webspace... this will not run PHP. PLusntet have two webspaces on some accounts, homepages for running basic HTML based websites and ccgi for running php/cgi based websites.
If your account has it, you need to activate your ccgi webspace and MySQL database. You should see icons to do this under Website Setting on your Member Centre page. If you don't have those icons then your package does not support ccgi/MySQL and you won't be able to install and run Wordpress.
dnalsmar

I have now uploaded Wordpress via the cgi server and gone to  ccgi.ramsland.plus.com / the message reads:
Access forbidden!
You don't have permission to access the requested directory. There is either no index document or the directory is read-protected.
How do I set up an index , I read the bits on the cgi help screen which gives the following information:
"Directory listing is switched off so unless you are directly referencing a specific file, you'll need an index file in place to see your site.
The server will look for index files in the following order:
index.html, index.html.var, index.htm, index.shtml, index.cgi, index.pl, index.php"
I am not clear what is required - suggestions welcome.