cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IPV6 any time soon?

aimihorne
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 22-06-2017

IPV6 any time soon?

Just curious to see if there is any official word on IPV6 yet for plusnet as Sky and BT are both fully up and running on it an it could become a deal breaker for us as we have two consoles in our house an ipv4 kills them for gaming same time same lobby. ipv6 would give them their own external IP's which would be a big help regards connection quality. 

Tags (1)
42 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,829
Thanks: 1,060
Fixes: 235
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: IPV6 any time soon?

Hi there, thanks for your interest in IPv6

We don't have any news I'm afraid.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
legume
Rising Star
Posts: 177
Thanks: 13
Registered: 21-07-2013

Re: IPV6 any time soon?

All things being good enabling upnp on the router should let 2 consoles play.

Depending on specifics of consoles/game/router there is scope for failure.

I don't have ipv6, but I am not sure if it would totally solve the problem. I mean questions like do game servers mix 6 and 4 for connections, what about game chat which may be P2P and if you want to host you would be limited in who could connect.

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,978
Thanks: 1,153
Fixes: 28
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: IPV6 any time soon?

Are you using the Plusnet supplied router by any chance?

DebbieLawson196
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 05-06-2015

Re: IPV6 any time soon?

I gave up waiting for IPv6 from Plus.Net a few years ago. 

 

My network runs a Hurricane Electric tunnel and every IPv6 ready machine gets a 2001::/3 global address.

 

https://tunnelbroker.net/

mikeharry
Newbie
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Registered: 22-08-2017

Re: IPV6 any time soon?

Hi all,

 

Just done a test using 'Test your IPv6' and got the following (IP addresses removed). Up to now it hasn't shown any IPv6 capability with a readiness score of 1. Am I to assume that Plusnet are now providing IPv6 Huh

 

 

Your IPv4 address on the public Internet appears to be

 

Your IPv6 address on the public Internet appears to be
Your IPv6 service appears to be: 6to4

 

Your Internet Service Provider (ISP) appears to be PLUSNET UK Internet Service Provider, GB
 

 

To ensure the best Internet performance and connectivity, ask your ISP about native IPv6. [more info]

 

You appear to be using a public 6to4 gateway; your router may be providing this to you automatically. Such public gateways have no service level agreements; you may see performance problems using such. Better would be to get a native IPv6 address from your ISP. [more info]

 

Your DNS server (possibly run by your ISP) appears to have IPv6 Internet access.

Your readiness score 7/10 for your IPv6 stability and readiness, when publishers are forced to go IPv6 only
Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,614
Thanks: 461
Fixes: 36
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: IPV6 any time soon?

I got some brief IPv6 connectivity by the looks of things

IPV6.PNG

I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
gabrielhopkins
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 8
Registered: 03-05-2013

Re: IPV6 any time soon?

If you got a Teredo address, isn't that a tunnel? Do you think you got a native IPV6 address?

 

 

Cheers

 

Gabe

gabrielhopkins
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 8
Registered: 03-05-2013

Re: IPV6 any time soon?

Ah! I see what you guys are doing. You've got 6to4 turned on and noticed your get tunnels from a Plusnet tunnel provider. If you can set it up, you'll probably find 6in4 with someone like Hurricane is better than that right now, but you're right it could be a promising sign that Plusnet are doing something (probably not ;-) )

mikeharry
Newbie
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Registered: 22-08-2017

Re: IPV6 any time soon?

Not to worry. Back to 1 out of 10 today - seems that there was something for a day or two but that Plusnet have pulled that plug.

 

Oh well.................................

Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,614
Thanks: 461
Fixes: 36
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: IPV6 any time soon?

@gabrielhopkins I'm not doing anything! http://test-ipv6.com/ is giving me 7/10 & http://ipv6-test.com/ is scoring 12/20.
I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
gabrielhopkins
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 8
Registered: 03-05-2013

Re: IPV6 any time soon?

Cool. Is that on the standard plusnet router?
Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,614
Thanks: 461
Fixes: 36
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: IPV6 any time soon?

No, I'm using an Asus DSL-AC88U but IPv6 isn't configured on it.
I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
gabrielhopkins
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 8
Registered: 03-05-2013

Re: IPV6 any time soon?

I think your router must have 6to4 enabled by default. That's a protocol that automatically detects and connects to local tunnels. So the jump from your router to PN is on IPv4 and then it gets bridged to IPv6. Native IPv6 would be better, but what's not to like!

Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,614
Thanks: 461
Fixes: 36
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: IPV6 any time soon?

The first one is now reporting 0/10 Sad
I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.