cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IP address

Sooty1951
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎09-12-2017

IP address

Hi, the last couple of days I have tried to log into my Betfair account but been unsuccessful. See error message below. Over the last few months I've not had a problem. Spoke to Betfair but they are saying that for some reason my IP address is showing that it is based in the USA.

"Our software detects that you may be accessing the Betfair website from a country that Betfair does not accept bets from. If you believe that this detection has occurred in error please contact us for further assistance."

 

Any ideas why this may have happened? Has my PC been hacked?

16 REPLIES 16
DaveyH
Champion
Posts: 1,946
Thanks: 466
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎15-11-2012

Re: IP address

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,567
Thanks: 2,193
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: IP address

Hi @Sooty1951 Welcome to the forums.

Don't worry - you have not been hacked. Sometime ago, Plusnet purchased blocks of IP addresses from US ISPs, and even after repeated requests from @bobpullen (our resident guru on all things IP related), a number of geo-location services, who supposedly maintain up to date lists of which country IP blocks are located have not relocated these blocks to PN in the UK.

Your best bet is to disconnect from the internet, via the disconnect button on your router control panel, switch off the router, wait 65 minutes to try and ensure you don't get the same or a similar IP, and then power up the router again and reconnect.

No guarantees this will be 100% effective, but it is the best advice I as a customer can give you.

I'll keep my eyes on this thread, so post back again if you still have problems after following my suggestion, and if need be we can try something else.

John
Sooty1951
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎09-12-2017

Re: IP address

Hi, but why did my Betfair login work ok earlier this week. I do not know anything re IP addresses. Do they change all the time? I thought once you had one for your pc, that stayed the same?

Sooty1951
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎09-12-2017

Re: IP address

ok John will do this later when we all go to bed otherwise kids will kill me!!1

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,567
Thanks: 2,193
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: IP address

@Sooty1951 - No they don't - if you are on a dynamic IP these can change if you are for any reason 'kicked off the internet'.

John
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,173
Thanks: 2,721
Fixes: 182
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: IP address

In the back of my head I've a feeling that static IP addresses used to come from a different pool. I paid a fiver and have not had a problem since. I don't know if this is still the case.

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,567
Thanks: 2,193
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: IP address

@Baldrick1 You are correct.Smiley

John
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,567
Thanks: 2,193
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: IP address

@Sooty1951 Any joy?

John
Sooty1951
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎09-12-2017

Re: IP address

All, thanks your help. Disconnected the router overnight and just reconnected. All ok now. I can login to Betfair ok now. Will remember this if the problem re-occurs. Thanks for all your help fellow supporters.

Have a happy Xmas

 

 

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,567
Thanks: 2,193
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: IP address

@Sooty1951 - Glad you're sorted, and thanks for letting us know.

John
Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 18,569
Thanks: 6,069
Fixes: 1,016
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: IP address

I'm sorry to hear of the problems you've had with your IP address.

I'm happy that powering the router off had fixed the issue for you. Let us know if you have any further problems.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Sooty1951
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎09-12-2017

Re: IP address

OMG, It has done it again. Powered off then powered on yesterday and I could access Betfair fine. Just tried to log on again and have the same error response as at the beginning of this thread!!

I haven't switched off my internet so why has my UK IP address gone back to an American one. How can I get a permanent UK IP address.

Yours in frustration

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,550
Thanks: 964
Fixes: 51
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: IP address

You can get a static IP address here for a one-off payment of £5.

Lots of other ISPs charge that monthly...

Ex-Plusnetter now living life in the G,fast lane!
Sooty1951
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎09-12-2017

Re: IP address

Hi, i have paid my fiver for a static IP so hopefully that will stop me being seen as a US customer to Betfair.

Thanks all

Brgds

Sooty