cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How long does a domain transfer out of Plusnet take?

michael1978

How long does a domain transfer out of Plusnet take?

I have started a transfer of a domain from Plusnet to 123-REG (because I want to use the domain with Office 365 and need more DNS control than Plusnet permits). How long should it take? I started the process on Saturday (2 days ago) and the status at 123-REG is "PendingRegistrarTagChange" meaning 'sit and wait'. Meanwhile emails sent to that domain are bouncing. I expected 12-24 hours, maybe more for a weekend? A 'whois' lookup still shows Plusnet.
Thanks for any advice,
Mike
P.S. I consider myself technically competent, but I'm a DNS rookie.
6 REPLIES 6
adamwalker
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Fixes: 221

Re: How long does a domain transfer out of Plusnet take?

michael1978,
Is the domain in question the .co.uk currently listed on your account?
If so were you able to provide the IPSTAG of the new host when you requested the transfer.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
michael1978

Hi Adam,
Well, it was listed until I provided the IPSTAG (123-REG); now it's gone.
At 123-reg it says "If your domain status is displayed as "pending registry" for a Top Level Domain transfer, this indicates that we are waiting for the approval of the losing registrar for the domain to go through. Please contact your previous provider and request them to approve the transfer."
Is there anything else I have to do?
Mike
michael1978

Elsewhere it says "Pending Registry Approval/Pending Registrar Tag Change - Your transfer order has been submitted to our registrar with valid Authorization code (EPP) and we are now waiting for final confirmation from the previous registrar and the registry before the transfer is complete. There is nothing you need to do, just wait patiently until the transfer goes through."
Mike
michael1978