cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Host wordpress

MeMeMe
Grafter

Host wordpress

I am trying to install Wordpress on my webspace. I'm new at this. All the installation guides instruct me to craete a new user and a new database dedicated to wordpress, but the phpadmin page doesn't appear to allow me to do that. Under create database, it says in red "No Privileges".
Possible extra complication: I have a hosted domain, and I'd like the blog to appear as a folder under that rather than my default plusnet webspace.
8 REPLIES 8
benl

Re: Host wordpress

Just raise a ticket to support asking for your MSQL username and password (assuming you don't already use your database for anything else).  You only get 1 database IIRC. 
Install in a different directory is no problem.  Just upload the installation files into that directory. 
Prod_Man
Grafter

Hello there,
PlusNet Provides a Single MySQL Database for each PlusNet Member,
This is IF you haven't already 'Activated MySQL' in the Members Centre
Under Website Settings Click on the -> MySQL Icon.
You'll recieve an EMail to the Account: admin@username.plus.com.
The Database Details usually look something like this -
Database Host: humbug / rumpus
Database Username: username
Database Name: username_pn
Database Password: *******
PHPMyAdmin will not allow Databases to be Added,
this is because Users do not have (and do not need) the Privledge of custom Database Names.
It's inorder to prevent the Databases becoming untidy, cluttered, unused/unmaintained and duplicate/overwritten data from another User in the Group.
So you have a Domain Name, have you got that setup correctly (Pointing to CCGI I assume?)?
If so, continue to read, if not you'll need to follow these Steps.
1. Change your Hosting Type to "Basic Hosting" by Rasing a Ticket within the Help Centre
2. Setup the Domain Name Records to Point to your CCGI Space (Read this Article Here.