cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with CGI space - Where is it?

nytmyst
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎14-04-2010

Help with CGI space - Where is it?

Hi All, noob here Cheesy
I'm trying to upload a simple php script to my CGI space, but I cant find my CGI space. The posts here give me 3 options :
http://cgi.(username).plus.com/
http://cgi.(username).plus.net/
http://ccgi.(username).plus.com/
None of the above produce a page of any significance - although #3 gives me 403 - access forbidden...
Please point me in the right direction - its only a simple feedback form - how hard can it be?
13 REPLIES 13
nytmyst
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎14-04-2010

Re: Help with CGI space - Where is it?

Sorry - can someone move this to the right forum please?
Thanks
spraxyt
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,063
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Help with CGI space - Where is it?

The first two options are definitely wrong. The third one is right assuming you are a Plusnet customer (rather than Force9 or Free-online).
The likely cause of a 403 access error when trying to browse to the file is incorrect file permissions. Recommended file permissions for folders and files is given in the cgi platform php upgrade faq.
David
nytmyst
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎14-04-2010

Re: Help with CGI space - Where is it?

I've checked and adjusted permission on my htdocs folder, but can't get to the cgi space?  I've logged a ticket and they said use ftp://cgi.plus.com/ but even that gives me a page not found.
Any more advice from anyone?
Cry
Andrew_B
Grafter
Posts: 247
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-04-2007

Re: Help with CGI space - Where is it?

Hi nytmyst
You should be able to find the details you need here.
http://www.plus.net/support/hosting/webspace/webspace_details.shtml
http://ccgi.username.plus.com is the URL to view your files.  You'll need an index file uploaded though as directory view is turned off.
The upload details you'll need are on the link.
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Help with CGI space - Where is it?

Quote from: nytmyst
I've logged a ticket and they said use ftp://cgi.plus.com/ but even that gives me a page not found.

I believe there is only one "educating tool" used by the whole Comms team - I rather they think with the volume of mistakes being made they need one each at the moment. Sad
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
spraxyt
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,063
Thanks: 1,369
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Help with CGI space - Where is it?

Quote from: nytmyst
I've checked and adjusted permission on my htdocs folder, but can't get to the cgi space?

htdocs is on your homepages webspace, not ccgi. I thought from your opening post you'd successfully uploaded a file to your ccgi space (using an FTP client), but couldn't browse to it afterwards. Is that not the case?
David
nytmyst
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎14-04-2010

Re: Help with CGI space - Where is it?

Quote from: Andrew

http://ccgi.username.plus.com is the URL to view your files.  You'll need an index file uploaded though as directory view is turned off.

Brilliant - thank you for this - I can now access the CGI space!.  You mentioned an index.php file to be required, what would this file contain (anything/nothing)? Any useful links as before?
This is where you can spot the noob!
Thank you very much again!
Andrew_B
Grafter
Posts: 247
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-04-2007

Re: Help with CGI space - Where is it?

Glad I could help Smiley
The index file is the 'front page' of your website (for want of a better term) and is what the CGI server will default to showing if it's present when people vist http://ccgi.username.plus.com
It doesn't have to be index.php.. it could be index.html, index.htm or index.something else (which I'm getting confirmation of at the moment, I'll post again shortly)
If you don't have an index file that the server recognises, you'll get an error.. unlike the standard 'homepages' sever, which would show you a list of the files in the directory.
nytmyst
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎14-04-2010

Re: Help with CGI space - Where is it?

Thanks Andrew for replying and putting up with me!  I think, after your post, I might have missed out some useful information  Embarrassed
So, if I break it down:
Plusnet host my domain, and I'm uploading html files to (ftp://mydomain.co.uk/htdocs). 
One of these is a contact page where I want to grab visitors name, number, comments. 
Now after some useful replies here, I understand that the CGI script needs to be on the CGI space (ftp://cshell.plus.net/cgi-bin/). 
I've now got my send.php file there and believe they comply with the cgi permissions FAQ.
Now, my issue is (apart from not knowing what I'm doing!) do I need my index.html on the CGI space? If so, will navigation through the rest of the pages 'just work' or will I have to adjust the hyperlinks?
AND, If I want to call, the send.php, what path do I use?
Thanks, and sorry if I'm frustrating you!

Andrew_B
Grafter
Posts: 247
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-04-2007

Re: Help with CGI space - Where is it?

Ah I see, sorry I thought you were placing your whole site on the CGI server.  If you're just linking/calling the script then you don't need anything else on the CGI server.
The path would be http://ccgi.username.plus.com/directory-the-script-is-in/send.php (if it's in the root, just http://ccgi.username.plus.com/send.php.
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Help with CGI space - Where is it?

Note php scripts should not be placed in cgi-bin
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,877
Thanks: 2,478
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Help with CGI space - Where is it?

That doesn't matter any more jelv, the new platform allows php to be executed within the cgi-bin folder.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

nytmyst
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎14-04-2010

Re: Help with CGI space - Where is it?

IT WORKS!  Cheesy  Cheesy  Cheesy
I'm soooo, pleased, thank you all very much!
Next up! MySQL! lol