cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Gigaset N300IP & AA (Andrews & Arnold) VoIP Service

JamesCRocks
Grafter
Posts: 27
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎06-03-2023

Gigaset N300IP & AA (Andrews & Arnold) VoIP Service

Hi,

 

So the good news is that AA (Andrews & Arnold) appear to have configured my VoIP service with my original telephone number. I said I'd confirm that it had worked so the following are the steps taken:

 

  1. PlusNet service switched to full fibre, 300Mbs (morning of 3rd April)
  2. Port of original number, 01795XXXXXX, ordered from AA (evening of 3rd April). Bear in mind I had been discussing it with their support people since 20th March. 
  3. Port completed by AA (13th April):

    Main Billing Number: 01795XXXXXX
    Porting Date: 13/04/2023
    Porting Time: 10:00

So that should tell some here that you can (at least now) order a port of a number post switch over and it should work (unless, of course, I was just plain lucky).

 

Anyway, over that same period I posted a couple of threads to this forum and, following advice given, eventually purchased a Gigaset N300IP, connected it to my network and have successfully accessed the unit from my PC. 

 

I have a Panasonic Quad Cordless phone set (KX-TG6824EB) which I understand are DECT and I have connected it to the N300IP with an RJ11 cable. 

 

I am now trying to set up the unit using the following the link available on the AA support site (VoIP Phones - Gigaset N300 - AAISP Support Site and, unfoortunately, I am having some issues Smiley

 

I have attached a picture of my main screen and my specific problems are:

  • Connection name or number: Left as default "IP1"
  • Authentication name: +441795XXXXXX (I've assumed no need for a "0" after the "+44"). Same for Username and Display name. 
  • Authentication password: Er, what? Did I ever get one? 

 

All other settings are defaults. 

 

With respect to other screens, I haven't changed the Number Assignment because I effectively only have one line. The other screens are, well, something of a mystery to me ... I might have been in IT most of my career but I was never in COMMs so... 

 

Anyway, I'm after any advice anyone can supply, preferably from someone who is using AA, the N300IP and a fairly ordinary DECT phone system (non-Gigaset, I guess)

 

Thanks

 

James

 

 

12 REPLIES 12
cpc6128
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎08-10-2015

Re: Gigaset N300IP & AA (Andrews & Arnold) VoIP Service

>Connection name or number: Left as default "IP1"

Fine. it's only important to you

 

>Authentication name: +441795XXXXXX (I've assumed no need for a "0" after the "+44"). Same for Username and Display name. 

Correct. Same as I have.

 

>Authentication password: Er, what? Did I ever get one? 

Log into AAISP Control pages.

Go to Telephony

Click on your number.

Select Incoming

The password to enter into the N300IP settings I believe is the 'SIP Password'.

 

>Anyway, I'm after any advice anyone can supply, preferably from someone who is using AA, the N300IP and a fairly ordinary DECT phone system (non-Gigaset, I guess)

 

I'm using a non gigaset DECT phone. I paired it with the N300. It works and rings fine, shows caller number, just lacks some of the extras that a Gigaset phone would have. I don't use mine that much so I don't miss those.

 

I hope this helps Smiley

Kev

 

 

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,092
Thanks: 5,737
Fixes: 409
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Gigaset N300IP & AA (Andrews & Arnold) VoIP Service

I have a Panasonic Quad Cordless phone set (KX-TG6824EB) which I understand are DECT and I have connected it to the N300IP with an RJ11 cable. 

The n300 is a dual landline/ voip unit and The rj11 is for connecting to a landline. Unpair your handsets from the panasonic base unit, and re-pair them to the n300, then forget about the panasonic base unit

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

JamesCRocks
Grafter
Posts: 27
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎06-03-2023

Re: Gigaset N300IP & AA (Andrews & Arnold) VoIP Service


@cpc6128 wrote:

>Authentication password: Er, what? Did I ever get one? 

Log into AAISP Control pages.

Go to Telephony

Click on your number.

Select Incoming

The password to enter into the N300IP settings I believe is the 'SIP Password'.


 

Having a problem there since I don't know my username (think it might have something to do with my telephone number) or login password. I tried "forgot my password" but irt expects some kind of domain after my [potential] username... I tried <telephone number>@aa.net.uk and an assortment of other ideas. Couldn't find anything in my emails either. 

It's probably something I specified during setup but for the life of me I can't remember if that's true.

 

@MisterW wrote:

I have a Panasonic Quad Cordless phone set (KX-TG6824EB) which I understand are DECT and I have connected it to the N300IP with an RJ11 cable. 

The n300 is a dual landline/ voip unit and The rj11 is for connecting to a landline. Unpair your handsets from the panasonic base unit, and re-pair them to the n300, then forget about the panasonic base unit

I can do that? I've looked through the settings of one of the handsets (Panasonic KX-TGA682E) and can't find anything. 

 

James

 

p.s. I'm good at this, ain't I? In my defence, I'm old, LOL!

cpc6128
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎08-10-2015

Re: Gigaset N300IP & AA (Andrews & Arnold) VoIP Service

For the username for the control pages take a look at your e-mail from Andrews & Arnold sales for me it's the one titled 'Port number to VOIP ...'

In that it'll tell you your allocated account login which is the one starting and ending with A, and the one for the control page which for me has 2 letters, 2 digits and ends with '@a'. That's the one you need to use with their control pages.

You will likely need to use 'forgotten password' to set a password the first time.

 

 

JamesCRocks
Grafter
Posts: 27
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎06-03-2023

Re: Gigaset N300IP & AA (Andrews & Arnold) VoIP Service


@cpc6128 wrote:

For the username for the control pages take a look at your e-mail from Andrews & Arnold sales for me it's the one titled 'Port number to VOIP ...'

In that it'll tell you your allocated account login which is the one starting and ending with A, and the one for the control page which for me has 2 letters, 2 digits and ends with '@a'. That's the one you need to use with their control pages.

You will likely need to use 'forgotten password' to set a password the first time.


Thanks Smiley

 

I think it's connected now but I don't really get this disconnect base station (of my quad phone set) thing. I assumed that the base was connected and that would then alow all the connected handsets to work [effectively] as one phone. Even if they do work separately, I can't find anything on the handsets that would allow me to disconnect them from the base station (I googled a manual but nothing in there). I did find a YouTube video which suggested a hidden menu and putting in "£134" ("#134") but it doesn't appear to work. A subsequent video suggested doing something to the base station but that didn't work either. I'm actually beginning to wonder if these damned phones are DECT at all.

 

Sorry but, like I implied elsewhere, comms isn't really my thing... I'm beginning to think I might need to buy a VoIP phone. 

 

James

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,092
Thanks: 5,737
Fixes: 409
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Gigaset N300IP & AA (Andrews & Arnold) VoIP Service

According to page 26 of tge Panasonic manual therecare 'cancel register' commands

Use the main base unit phone to cancel the other 3. The switch off the main base, you will not be able to use that.

Then register the 3 remaining handsets to the n300 using its registration procedure ( i think its press the button on the front )

 

 

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

JamesCRocks
Grafter
Posts: 27
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎06-03-2023

Re: Gigaset N300IP & AA (Andrews & Arnold) VoIP Service


@MisterW wrote:

According to page 26 of tge Panasonic manual therecare 'cancel register' commands

Use the main base unit phone to cancel the other 3. The switch off the main base, you will not be able to use that.

Then register the 3 remaining handsets to the n300 using its registration procedure ( i think its press the button on the front )


Wow! That worked for the handset I have in my cellar. I downloaded a manual as well (I'd seen it before but was obviously searching on the wrong stuff). 

 

So, it's: 

#131 to cancel (deregister) a handset

#130 to add (register) a handset

 

I called from my mobile and it rings, I can answer and hangup but if I hangup without answering it stops ringing but my mobile keeps ringing for perhaps twenty odd rings... a bit strange. 

 

#104 Name handset doesn't seem to work. The one I got to work was named "CELLAR" but now seems to have no name... maybe if I deregister / register the others they'll remember their old names? It would be nice to have that back as maybe the INTERCOM function (calling between handsets) would still work.

 

Anyway, thanks Smiley

 

James

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,092
Thanks: 5,737
Fixes: 409
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Gigaset N300IP & AA (Andrews & Arnold) VoIP Service

You can change the handset names from the n300 gui. Its settings->handsets IIRC

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,741
Thanks: 1,417
Fixes: 59
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Gigaset N300IP & AA (Andrews & Arnold) VoIP Service

@JamesCRocks  Pleased to see that your number port has gone through OK.

Just checking that you understand that after you deregister the phone handsets from the Panasonic base station it will no longer have any connection to the handsets and they will have lost the names allocated to them. At this point power down the Panasonic base unit as it is no longer required. It appears you are trying to name a handset using the Panasonic #104 command which is not going to work if the handset is no longer connected.

You need to register the handsets to the Gigaset N300IP and set them up using the Gigaset browser based configurator.(GUI)

 

JamesCRocks
Grafter
Posts: 27
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎06-03-2023

Re: Gigaset N300IP & AA (Andrews & Arnold) VoIP Service


@MisterW wrote:

You can change the handset names from the n300 gui. Its settings->handsets IIRC


You can, however the names don't appear on the handsets. To be fair, that might simply be a handset problem. 

 

James

JamesCRocks
Grafter
Posts: 27
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎06-03-2023

Re: Gigaset N300IP & AA (Andrews & Arnold) VoIP Service


@RealAleMadrid wrote:

@JamesCRocks  Pleased to see that your number port has gone through OK.

...

You need to register the handsets to the Gigaset N300IP and set them up using the Gigaset browser based configurator.(GUI)


Yeah, did that but the names don't appear on the handsets and if I use the INTERCOM function, the phone can't see any options. 

 

Ultimately, it's not essential, just a nice to have... my wife, however, might think otherwise. 

 

James

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,092
Thanks: 5,737
Fixes: 409
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Gigaset N300IP & AA (Andrews & Arnold) VoIP Service

To be fair, that might simply be a handset problem. 

I suspect your'e right, its maybe because they are basic GAP handsets. I've only ever used fully compatible Gigaset handsets with my n300 so I can't say for sure.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.