cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting my own domain pointed at my PHP webspace?

richandsian
Grafter
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎14-02-2008

Getting my own domain pointed at my PHP webspace?

Can I configure my own domain (currently pointing at my standard plusnet webspace) to point at my CGI/PHP webspace?
Am I best off just raising a ticket for this?
Thanks in advance.
Rich.
5 REPLIES 5
richandsian
Grafter
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎14-02-2008

Re: Getting my own domain pointed at my PHP webspace?

Or is there a way I can use an .htaccess file to point from my normal webspace domain to the ccgi space?
Gabe
Community Veteran
Posts: 767
Registered: ‎29-10-2008

Re: Getting my own domain pointed at my PHP webspace?

Hi Rich,
If the domain is hosted by Plusnet then you can manage your domain via the member centre (see also). ccgi is at 84.92.1.4 or 84.92.1.5 if force9.
Gabe
greenofashbourn
Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎22-03-2009

Re: Getting my own domain pointed at my PHP webspace?

Hi again,
Can anyone guess that I'm trying to change my website to include php? Hence the sudden spate of posts!
I think I'm trying to do the same as above, but can't quite seem to follow the instructions (and the warnings about websites stopping working are scaring me!)
I have a domain hosted on plusnet - let's call it www.name.co.uk
I'd like to be able to run php script in, for example, www.name.co.uk/test.htm
I have a script test.php that works fine on the ccgi server - and believe that I need to change the DNS records - but this is where I get scared.
Is there anyone who can guide me?
Thanks a lot (I really appreciate you guys on this forum who can actually answer questions, unlike myself who only seems to be able to ask them!),
Stuart
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: Getting my own domain pointed at my PHP webspace?

HI greenofashbourne,
if you raise a ticket well get the whole domain pointed to the CGI server.
Jojo Smiley
greenofashbourn
Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎22-03-2009

Re: Getting my own domain pointed at my PHP webspace?

Thanks Jojo,
I actually found another post and risked changing my DNS records myself (eek!).
Anyway, I seem to have done it OK as I can now use www.name.co.uk/test.php
Where test.php is residing on my ccgi
Hmm, actually, maybe I do  need you! Have just realised that name.co.uk/test.php doesn't work (Error 404) although name.co.uk/test.htm does.
I had changed DNS records to:
Left field Type Pri Right field
name.co.uk.  a    84.92.1.4
                  mx  20  mx.last.plus.net.
www  cname    ccgi.plus.net.
Let me know if I should raise a ticket!
Stuart