cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTP - Jump ship to BT or wait it out?

DrVictoria
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎03-03-2021

FTTP - Jump ship to BT or wait it out?

My Fibre Extra + phone contract ends on Xmas day.
BT Full Fibre 100 + line rental is on offer for -  first three months free, then £34.99 a month for a 24 month contract.

(Will need to check out the phone call costs on BT versus plusnet).

Initial renewal offer from Plusnet is £30 for fibre extra + line rental, 24 months.  Though I get another £2.50 off that from referrals.  Can try again and see if they will do better, considerng their new customer offer seems to be £23.95.

Have been happy with plusnet for a long time so not really wanting to jump ship but......
Don't really want to get tied to a 24 month contract if things are going change....
But then, asking plusnet about FTTP, they just say they have no plans for FTTP..

Then again, the plusnet slower option is £7.50 cheaper than the BT faster offer..........money versus speed...!
If I jump ship and come back, I lose the £2.50 discount (yeah not a huge amount but sometimes pennies count).

Any ideas, if I stayed with plusnet and then they did bring in FTTP, if you could upgrade mid-contract without penalties?

What are your thought, jump ship or wait it out?

(Sorry, kind of needing a sounding board as I don't have anyone here to bounce this off.  I know any replies are opinions and I will weigh them all up before making a decision).

 

Thank you.

36 REPLIES 36
jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 12,135
Thanks: 3,876
Fixes: 150
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: FTTP - Jump ship to BT or wait it out?

First questions - is you area FTTP enabled yet? If not, when will it be?

John
DrVictoria
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎03-03-2021

Re: FTTP - Jump ship to BT or wait it out?

As far as I can tell it is.
Using my postcode on the BT site, it gives me the Full Fibre options.
Someone else in my village has the BT Full Fibre (yes, I know that doesn't necessary mean my house would have access to it)
And a local??? company Fibrus has been round months ago doing work and put a leaftlet in through our door then (though i wouldn't be going with them as hugely expensive and alot of 'teething' issues from what I hear on all aspects of service).

jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 12,135
Thanks: 3,876
Fixes: 150
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: FTTP - Jump ship to BT or wait it out?

OK - try using your phone number in that search - much more reliable.

John
DrVictoria
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎03-03-2021

Re: FTTP - Jump ship to BT or wait it out?

It only seems to have postcode option not telephone, but it then lets me select my actual address.

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,597
Thanks: 4,319
Fixes: 345
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: FTTP - Jump ship to BT or wait it out?

@DrVictoria 

Plusnet allow you to upgrade part way through a contract from ADSL to FTTC fibre so in the future I can only imagine that they will allow this with FTTP. You may need to start a new contract but I would assume that would be all.

I am assuming that the current Plusnet price is a Black Friday deal and this price will soon go back up. If you want to stay with Plusnet why not give their Customer Options Team a ring now on 0800 013 2632 and see what you can negotiate?

I think that I have read that BT now charge extra for the landline phone element as well as charging for calls, so do check this out.

 

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

bmc
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,351
Thanks: 648
Fixes: 28
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: FTTP - Jump ship to BT or wait it out?

@DrVictoria 

I assume you're using the following to check

https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL

 

If your phone number doesn't work, use the address version, enter your post code only and select your address from the drop down list. You're looking for WBC FTTP in the left hand column.

 

PlusNet FTTP is coming - it's just a question of when. Last semi official word was by end of January (though it should be pointed out they didn't say which January!!!).

 

I would image you would be able to upgrade mid contract. Note also that a new PlusNet HubTwo is inbound and will almost certainly be offered to FTTP customers.

 

Brian

DrVictoria
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎03-03-2021

Re: FTTP - Jump ship to BT or wait it out?

I have checked that link.

In the notes at the bottom it says:

FTTP is not available.

But on the general BT site it gives me the full fibre options for my address, as does the Fibrus website. And I know Fibrus was working in our village months (last year) and were at the box outside our drive and did post us a leaflet when they had finished.  Fibrus only does FTTP.  There has been a scheme here to bring (full) fibre to villages/towns in N.Ireland that would have been 'last on the list' to get exciting stuff.

bmc
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,351
Thanks: 648
Fixes: 28
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: FTTP - Jump ship to BT or wait it out?

@DrVictoria 

Something doesn't seem right here. I can't see how BT are offering "Full Fibre" at your address when the Checker states FTTP is not available. Most ISP's use this checker to confirm what's available (well, PlusNet certainly do).

 

Fibrus is a different matter - I assume it's laid it's own network so doesn't depend on OpenReach.

 

Brian

bmc
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,351
Thanks: 648
Fixes: 28
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: FTTP - Jump ship to BT or wait it out?

@DrVictoria 

Just checked my own address. Can you confirm BT are offering Full Fibre 100, 500 or 900.

 

Brian

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,597
Thanks: 4,319
Fixes: 345
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: FTTP - Jump ship to BT or wait it out?

@DrVictoria 

There are two flavours of FTTP. What you want is WBC FTTP. FTTP On Demand is for businesses and costs eye watering installation and subscription amounts.

On the bottom of the info page ignore ant mention of FTTP priority area.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

DrVictoria
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎03-03-2021

Re: FTTP - Jump ship to BT or wait it out?

Ok, I went as far as I could through the BT offers pages, on the Full 100 option, just to be told at the last minute that it isn't available for me.  

*sigh* 

Why couldn't they tell you that on the first page!
So I guess it would be Fibrus only, so no FTTP for me right now 😞

Decision made.

Sorry for wasting your time!
But thank you for your replies.

 

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,141
Thanks: 823
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: FTTP - Jump ship to BT or wait it out?

I suspect if you had shared the results of the BTW DSL checker link in post 7 we may have been able to let you know what was available.

Perhaps it was GFast, but no ports available?

DrVictoria
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎03-03-2021

Re: FTTP - Jump ship to BT or wait it out?

I now understand more about the terminology and providers.  It has been a learning day.

So, as someone else suggested, I think openreach has not made it to me though they have made it to other places in the village. (Yeah, village!) They just didn't go up the hill! But Fibrus supposedly has. So my option would only be Fibrus (who also provide the actual package as well as the 'line') 

I think N.Ireland is being provided with full fibre from Openreach N.Ireland, Fibrus and Virgin Media. They are all competing for grants to get us connected. Seemingly N.Ireland is at 74% full fibre availability compared to around 25-30% in Scotland/Wales/England. But that doesn't mean we actually have of choice of providers. 

 

bmc
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,351
Thanks: 648
Fixes: 28
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: FTTP - Jump ship to BT or wait it out?

@DrVictoria 

If you move tp Fibrus they'll install their own line so you'll likely have an overlap of services. Plus you have have any cancellation charges which might apply from your current ISP.

 

OpenReach "wholesale" their lines to ISP's (including BT Retail) to provide inernet connections.

 

Fibrus is an "alternative provider" (I believe sometimes referred to alt-nets). Most of these do not wholesale their lines so you're stuck with them. CityFibre is one of the few who do.

 

Are you sure OpenReach is providing FTTP elsewhere in the village?

 

Brian