cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTP username/password problem

Billo

FTP username/password problem

Can anyone help a novice website designer?  I followed the plusnet video help guide for uploading websites, but can't get past the stage of accessing the ftp site as our username &/or password is not recognised, invalid or whatever.  The following is the question I logged with plusnet customer support which they haven't yet resolved - wondering if anyone has any suggestions.  Please respond using small words and assuming no knowledge of anything technical.
Cheers
We are having problems uploading a website to our plusnet web space. As complete novices at this we are probably doing something daft, so please respond assuming we have no knowledge whatsoever.
Following the instructions in your video help we:
1. typed http://www.micnet.plus.com into the internet explorer address bar. That took us to the plusnet holding page. So far so good.
2. typed ftp://www.micnet.plus.com into the address bar. We were then asked for a username and password.
3. typed our plusnet username (micnet) and password (the one that goes with "micnet") into the approprite spaces
4. clicked "logon". This is where things go wrong as we get returned to the same password dialogue box with "micnet" showing as username and password blank. No error messages. Same result, no matter how many times we try.
How do we fix this please?
ALSO
We have registered a domain name to be hosted by plusnet. The domain is loweswatershow.co.uk , and the website we want to upload should be http://www.loweswatershow.co.uk. Once we have resolved the username/password problem, should we use "loweswatershow.co.uk" as the username for the purpose of managing the website or is it still "micnet"?
6 REPLIES 6
adagio
Grafter

Re: FTP username/password problem