cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTP problems with a MAC

angelab
Grafter

FTP problems with a MAC

I have a similar problem - and am rather discouraged to see no one has come back to you with an answer, Peaksoft!

I am UK-based.
For years, I have been able to upload files easily to my PlusNet webspace from my PC - whether in wired or wireless mode.
However, I have recently purchased a Mac computer, and trying to do the same thing from that results in the message:
"The item <filename>.htm could not be moved because htdocs cannot be modified."
I'm not very good at the jargon, but basically I was trying to do my usual uploading routine:
- I go to the site ftp.plus.net
- A folder comes up, called htdocs.
- and drag files, and their relevant folders, to it.
BUT:
- I am NOT asked for any login details.
- I tried dragging the file from my computer to the folder, in the normal way, only to receive the message given above.
- then a message came up saying the connection was terminated by the remote host.
I make all my webpages using MSWord.
The file that I am trying to upload is a modified one - i.e. with the same name as one already in my htdocs folder. 
I do have MSWord on my Mac, but undoubtedly it's of a more recent date than the MSWord on my PC.  I don't know if that makes any difference.
I shall be looking out for suggestions, too!
Angela

[Moderator's note by Jim (Oldjim)  title modified when split from original thread ]
5 REPLIES 5
peaksoft
Grafter

FTP problems with a MAC

Angela, I suddenly remembered some very sound advice that I was given years ago.
On the first occasion I ever had to summon a techy at work, I started a long explanation describing the symptoms of a computer problem.
He smiled and nodded, and rebooted my computer, and when it restarted, the problem had gone away.  "Works 90% of the time for 100% of problems," he said.